• $17.99

Publisher Description

Thing 1: There is no such thing as free market. Thing 4: The washing machine has changed the world more than the Internet. Thing 5: Assume the worst about people, and you get the worst. Thing 13: Making rich people richer doesn't make the rest of us richer. If you've wondered how we did not see the economic collapse coming, Ha-Joon Chang knows the answer: We didn't ask what they didn't tell us about capitalism. This is a lighthearted book with a serious purpose: to question the assumptions behind the dogma and sheer hype that the dominant school of neoliberal economists-the apostles of the freemarket-have spun since the Age of Reagan. Chang, the author of the international bestseller Bad Samaritans, is one of the world's most respected economists, a voice of sanity-and wit-in the tradition of John Kenneth Galbraith and Joseph Stiglitz. 23 Things They Don't Tell You About Capitalism equips readers with an understanding of how global capitalism works-and doesn't. In his final chapter, "How to Rebuild the World," Chang offers a vision of how we can shape capitalism to humane ends, instead of becoming slaves of the market.

GENRE
Business & Personal Finance
RELEASED
2011
January 2
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
304
Pages
PUBLISHER
Bloomsbury Publishing
SELLER
INscribe Digital
SIZE
906.5
KB

Customer Reviews

Jowi T ,

Required Reading

"The smartest guys in the room" have insisted for several decades now that the simplest understanding of the profit motive was the goose that would lay increasingly valuable and complex golden eggs if we just gave them the keys to the economic and financial machinery. To a huge extent we did hand over those keys and they brought us to the brink of ruin.
Amazingly, they clamour to be handed the keys again based on the same old assumptions, clearly having understood nothing. The insistent, friendly, plain speaking voice of Ha-Joon Chang methodically debunks their claim to understand how economies work and lays a road map to a better, smarter, more prosperous, more stable and more equitable world for us all.
This is essential reading not only for those in the drivers seats of the world economy but for all of us passengers as well.

More Books by Ha-Joon Chang