A Death in the Dales A Death in the Dales
Book 7 - A Kate Shackleton Mystery

A Death in the Dales

A Kate Shackleton Mystery

    • 3.9 • 8 Ratings
    • $12.99
    • $12.99

Publisher Description

An intricate plot set in the 1920s English countryside and Frances Brody's "refreshingly complex heroine" (Kirkus) Kate Shackleton make A Death in the Dales an absorbing 7th installment in this mystery, perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Agatha Christie.

A murder most foul

When the landlord of a Yorkshire tavern is killed in plain sight, Freda Simonson, the only witness to the crime, becomes plagued with guilt, believing the wrong man has been convicted. Following her death, it seems that the truth will never be uncovered in the peaceful village of Langcliffe...

A village of secrets

But it just so happens that Freda’s nephew is courting the renowned amateur sleuth Kate Shackleton, who decides to holiday in Langcliffe with her indomitable teenage niece, Harriet. When Harriet strikes up a friendship with a local girl whose young brother is missing, the search leads Kate to uncover another suspicious death, not to mention an illicit affair.

The case of a lifetime

As the present mysteries merge with the past’s mistakes, Kate is thrust into the secrets that Freda left behind and realizes that this courageous woman has entrusted her with solving a murder from beyond the grave. It soon becomes clear to her that nothing in Langcliffe is quite as it appears, and with a murderer on the loose and an ever-growing roster of suspects, this isn’t the holiday Kate was expecting...

Frances Brody's Kate Shackleton returns in A Death in the Dales with another mystery that's sure to "hold the reader attention and make them continue reading into the small hours of the night" (York Press, UK).

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2017
February 14
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
432
Pages
PUBLISHER
St. Martin's Publishing Group
SELLER
Macmillan
SIZE
8.5
MB

More Books Like This

Midwinter Murder Midwinter Murder
2020
The Collected Works of Mary Roberts Rinehart The Collected Works of Mary Roberts Rinehart
2018
The Night of Fear The Night of Fear
2019
The Royal Secret The Royal Secret
2021
28 Books by Mary Roberts Rinehart 28 Books by Mary Roberts Rinehart
2017
The Lady Sleuths MEGAPACK ® The Lady Sleuths MEGAPACK ®
2014

More Books by Frances Brody

Dying in the Wool Dying in the Wool
2012
A Medal for Murder A Medal for Murder
2013
Death in the Stars Death in the Stars
2018
A Woman Unknown A Woman Unknown
2015
Death of an Avid Reader Death of an Avid Reader
2016
Murder in the Afternoon Murder in the Afternoon
2014

Customers Also Bought

The Corpse at the Crystal Palace The Corpse at the Crystal Palace
2018
Rattle His Bones Rattle His Bones
2011
Gunpowder Plot Gunpowder Plot
2007
Die Laughing Die Laughing
2003
Black Ship Black Ship
2009
Fall of a Philanderer Fall of a Philanderer
2005

Other Books in This Series

Death at the Seaside Death at the Seaside
2017
Death in the Stars Death in the Stars
2018
A Snapshot of Murder A Snapshot of Murder
2019
The Body on the Train The Body on the Train
2019
Murder is in the Air Murder is in the Air
2020
A Mansion for Murder A Mansion for Murder
2023