A Voyage For Madmen

    • 4.6 • 13 Ratings
    • $13.99
    • $13.99

Publisher Description

“An extraordinary story of bravery and insanity on the high seas. . . . One of the most gripping sea stories I have ever read.” — Sebastian Junger, author of The Perfect Storm

In the tradition of Into Thin Air and The Perfect Storm, comes a breathtaking oceanic adventure about an obsessive desire to test the limits of human endurance.

In 1968 nine sailors set off on the most daring race ever held and never before completed: to single-handedly circumnavigate the globe nonstop. Ten months later, only one of the nine men would cross the finish line and earn fame, wealth, and glory. For the others, the reward was madness, failure, and death.

Gorgeously written and meticulously researched by author Peter Nichols, this extraordinary book chronicles the contest of the individual against the sea, waged at a time before cell phones, satellite dishes, and electronic positioning systems. A Voyage for Madmen is a tale of sailors driven by their own dreams and demons, of horrific storms, and of those riveting moments when a decision means the difference between life and death.

GENRE
Travel & Adventure
RELEASED
2009
October 13
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
336
Pages
PUBLISHER
HarperCollins e-books
SELLER
Harper Collins Canada Limited
SIZE
1.2
MB

Customer Reviews

LIILIA ,

A Voyage For Mad Men

One of the best and most interesting books I’ve read in a long time. Totally engrossing!

More Books by Peter Nichols

2015
2018
2009
2016
2009
2017

Customers Also Bought

2009
2008
1995
2000
2014
2003