Anna of Kleve, The Princess in the Portrait Anna of Kleve, The Princess in the Portrait
Book 4 - Six Tudor Queens

Anna of Kleve, The Princess in the Portrait

A Novel

    • 3.7 • 3 Ratings
    • $14.99
    • $14.99

Publisher Description

The surprising and dramatic life of the least known of King Henry VIII’s wives is illuminated in the fourth volume in the Six Tudor Queens series—for fans of Philippa Gregory, Hilary Mantel, and The Crown.

Newly widowed and the father of an infant son, Henry VIII realizes he must marry again to ensure the royal succession. Forty-six, overweight, and suffering from gout, Henry is soundly rejected by some of Europe's most eligible princesses. Anna of Kleve, from a small German duchy, is twenty-four, and has a secret she is desperate to keep hidden. Henry commissions her portrait from his court painter, who depicts her from the most flattering perspective. Entranced by the lovely image, Henry is bitterly surprised when Anna arrives in England and he sees her in the flesh. Some think her attractive, but Henry knows he can never love her.

What follows is the fascinating story of an awkward royal union that somehow had to be terminated. Even as Henry begins to warm to his new wife and share her bed, his attention is captivated by one of her maids-of-honor. Will he accuse Anna of adultery as he did Queen Anne Boleyn, and send her to the scaffold? Or will he divorce her and send her home in disgrace? Alison Weir takes a fresh and astonishing look at this remarkable royal marriage by describing it from the point of view of Queen Anna, a young woman with hopes and dreams of her own, alone and fearing for her life in a royal court that rejected her almost from the day she set foot on England’s shore.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2019
May 14
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
512
Pages
PUBLISHER
Random House Publishing Group
SELLER
Penguin Random House Canada
SIZE
6.5
MB

More Books Like This

A Triple Knot A Triple Knot
2014
My Lady of Cleves My Lady of Cleves
2008
Brief Gaudy Hour Brief Gaudy Hour
2008
The Spymaster's Daughter The Spymaster's Daughter
2012
The Queen's Mistake The Queen's Mistake
2009
The Spanish Bride The Spanish Bride
2005

More Books by Alison Weir

Captive Queen Captive Queen
2010
Jane Seymour, The Haunted Queen Jane Seymour, The Haunted Queen
2018
The Six Wives of Henry VIII The Six Wives of Henry VIII
2011
Elizabeth, the Queen Elizabeth, the Queen
2011
Anne Boleyn, A King's Obsession Anne Boleyn, A King's Obsession
2017
A Dangerous Inheritance A Dangerous Inheritance
2012

Customers Also Bought

The Lady of the Ravens The Lady of the Ravens
2020
The Romanov Empress The Romanov Empress
2018
The Agincourt Bride The Agincourt Bride
2013
The Queen’s Lady The Queen’s Lady
2022
The Sisters of Versailles The Sisters of Versailles
2015
First of the Tudors First of the Tudors
2016

Other Books in This Series

Katheryn Howard, The Scandalous Queen Katheryn Howard, The Scandalous Queen
2020
Katharine Parr, The Sixth Wife Katharine Parr, The Sixth Wife
2021
Jane Seymour, The Haunted Queen Jane Seymour, The Haunted Queen
2018
Anne Boleyn, A King's Obsession Anne Boleyn, A King's Obsession
2017
Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen
2016