• $8.99

Publisher Description

#1 New York Times bestselling author of The Punishment She Deserves Elizabeth George has millions of fans following her Inspector Lynley series. As USA Today put it, "It's tough to resist George's storytelling, once hooked." With Believing the Lie, she's poised to hook countless more.

Inspector Thomas Lynley is mystified when he's sent undercover to investigate the death of Ian Cresswell at the request of the man's uncle, the wealthy and influential Bernard Fairclough. The death has been ruled an accidental drowning, and nothing on the surface indicates otherwise. But when Lynley enlists the help of his friends Simon and Deborah St. James, the trio's digging soon reveals that the Fairclough clan is awash in secrets, lies, and motives.

Deborah's investigation of the prime suspect--Bernard's prodigal son Nicholas, a recovering drug addict--leads her to Nicholas's wife, a woman with whom she feels a kinship, a woman as fiercely protective as she is beautiful. Lynley and Simon delve for information from the rest of the family, including the victim's bitter ex-wife and the man he left her for, and Bernard himself. As the investigation escalates, the Fairclough family's veneer cracks, with deception and self-delusion threatening to destroy everyone from the Fairclough patriarch to Tim, the troubled son Ian left behind.

Mysteries & Thrillers
January 10
Penguin Publishing Group
Penguin Random House Canada

Customer Reviews

CeeJayEss108 ,

Where have the old Lynley stories gone to?

I've been a fan of Elizabeth George's writing for a long time and am beginning to wonder if she's struggling for Lynley plot lines. By my reckoning, it's been a steady slide since George killed off Lynley's wife. In this novel, the actions of Deborah St. James are so contrived in an effort to create one of the book's central conflicts and the final, ultimate tragedy! I steadily lost interest as incredulity replaced "suspension of disbelief" and really only finished the book because I'd paid for it. I think I'll go back to her earlier works for a re-read instead of buying her next new one.

More Books by Elizabeth George

Other Books in This Series