• $11.99

Publisher Description

WINNER of CBC Canada Reads

In the tradition of Elie Wiesel’s Night and Primo Levi’s Survival in Auschwitz comes a bestselling new memoir by Canadian survivor

Finalist for the 2017 RBC Taylor Prize

More than 70 years after the Nazi camps were liberated by the Allies, a new Canadian Holocaust memoir details the rural Hungarian deportations to Auschwitz-Birkenau, back-breaking slave labour in Auschwitz I, the infamous “death march” in January 1945, the painful aftermath of liberation, a journey of physical and psychological healing.

Tibor “Max” Eisen was born in Moldava, Czechoslovakia into an Orthodox Jewish family. He had an extended family of sixty members, and he lived in a family compound with his parents, his two younger brothers, his baby sister, his paternal grandparents and his uncle and aunt. In the spring of1944--five and a half years after his region had been annexed to Hungary and the morning after the family’s yearly Passover Seder--gendarmes forcibly removed Eisen and his family from their home. They were brought to a brickyard and eventually loaded onto crowded cattle cars bound for Auschwitz-Birkenau. At fifteen years of age, Eisen survived the selection process and he was inducted into the camp as a slave labourer.

One day, Eisen received a terrible blow from an SS guard. Severely injured, he was dumped at the hospital where a Polish political prisoner and physician, Tadeusz Orzeszko, operated on him. Despite his significant injury, Orzeszko saved Eisen from certain death in the gas chambers by giving him a job as a cleaner in the operating room. After his liberation and new trials in Communist Czechoslovakia, Eisen immigrated to Canada in 1949, where he has dedicated the last twenty-two years of his life to educating others about the Holocaust across Canada and around the world.

The author will be donating a portion of his royalties from this book to institutions promoting tolerance and understanding.

GENRE
History
RELEASED
2016
April 19
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
304
Pages
PUBLISHER
HarperCollins Publishers
SELLER
Harper Collins Canada Limited
SIZE
6.1
MB

Customer Reviews

Mickeypins ,

Excellent and Necessary

This is an incredible book and very necessary to educate future generations. It took immense courage to write and relive the details. We can’t imagine living this and the thorough detail makes it a little easier to comprehend something incomprehensible.

French Bred ,

Amazing

I am in awe of Max and in reading his memoir made me think that everything can be achieved through the power of kindness.. That the human body can suffer a great deal but if you have faith you surmount and achieved greatness. Thank you for sharing you're an amazing man

Classical56 ,

Mandatory reading

For the young people.