Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter

Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter

A Novel

    • 4.3 • 10 Ratings
    • $11.99
    • $11.99

Publisher Description

“The classic trifecta of talent, heart, and a bone-deep sense of storytelling….A masterful performance, deftly rendered and deeply satisfying. For days on end, I woke with this story on my mind.” —David Wroblewski

A powerful and resonant novel from the critically acclaimed author of Smonk and Hell at the Breech, Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter tells the riveting story of two boyhood friends, torn apart by circumstance, who are brought together again by a terrible crime in a small Mississippi town. An extraordinary novel that seamlessly blends elements of crime and Southern literary fiction, Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter is a must for readers of Larry Brown, Pete Dexter, Ron Rash, and Dennis Lehane.

In the late 1970s, Larry Ott and Silas "32" Jones were boyhood pals. Their worlds were as different as night and day: Larry, the child of lower-middle-class white parents, and Silas, the son of a poor, single black mother. Yet for a few months the boys stepped outside of their circumstances and shared a special bond. But then tragedy struck: Larry took a girl on a date to a drive-in movie, and she was never heard from again. She was never found and Larry never confessed, but all eyes rested on him as the culprit. The incident shook the county—and perhaps Silas most of all. His friendship with Larry was broken, and then Silas left town.

More than twenty years have passed. Larry, a mechanic, lives a solitary existence, never able to rise above the whispers of suspicion. Silas has returned as a constable. He and Larry have no reason to cross paths until another girl disappears and Larry is blamed again. And now the two men who once called each other friend are forced to confront the past they've buried and ignored for decades.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2010
October 5
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
304
Pages
PUBLISHER
William Morrow
SELLER
Harper Collins Canada Limited
SIZE
1.3
MB

More Books Like This

In the Walled City In the Walled City
2007
Signals Signals
2017
Same Place, Same Things Same Place, Same Things
2013
The Missing The Missing
2009
Mystery Writers of America Presents The Blue Religion Mystery Writers of America Presents The Blue Religion
2008
ShadowShow ShadowShow
2014

More Books by Tom Franklin

The Tilted World The Tilted World
2013
Hell at the Breech Hell at the Breech
2009
Smonk Smonk
2009
Braconniers Braconniers
2018
Dans la colère du fleuve Dans la colère du fleuve
2015
The Alumni Grill 2 The Alumni Grill 2
2010

Customers Also Bought

November Road November Road
2018
Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore
2017
Ohio Ohio
2018
We Are All Welcome Here We Are All Welcome Here
2006
Euphoria Euphoria
2014
The Past Is Never The Past Is Never
2018