Eleanor and the Cold War Eleanor and the Cold War

Eleanor and the Cold War

    • Pre-Order
    • Expected Jan 21, 2025
    • $12.99
    • Pre-Order
    • $12.99

Publisher Description

A brilliant 1950s Cold War historical mystery debut a female sleuth who is also an indispensable assistant to former First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt. Perfect for fans of Colleen Cambridge and Agatha Christie.

New York City and Washington, DC, 1951.
Kay Thompson—secretary to Eleanor Roosevelt—is a young woman of conviction navigating the post-World War II period. But can she expose the dark truth about a transatlantic murder mystery unfolding before her eyes?

Previously fired for speaking out against workplace injustices, twenty-five-year-old Kay Thompson finds her true calling once appointed to support Eleanor Roosevelt, a champion of human rights known as ER among those in her inner circle. Kay fully embraces her new role as the former First Lady’s right hand—typing up daily columns and juggling a blur of political meetings, ribbon cuttings, and charitable dinners. It’s not until a dead body is discovered on a train that her most compelling task comes into focus . . .  

Stunning Susie Taylor had star quality. Judging from her photos, it’s clear why she left Sweden with plans to make it big on Broadway. But when ER enlists Kay’s help on a discreet investigation about her sudden disappearance, the two suspect the up-and-comer was concealing secrets about her real identity and motives—all leading to her murder at Washington’s Union Station . . .

Plunged into a living Alfred Hitchcock film, an unseasoned Kay and a shrewd ER side with a handsome detective on a search for answers. What was Susie’s connection with a charismatic Soviet UN delegate and an atomic energy researcher? As ER makes it her mission to find out, danger looms upon the discovery of another body. Now, Kay must play a central role in exposing the killer—before she becomes the next rising beauty to meet a cruel fate . . .

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
AVAILABLE
2025
January 21
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
288
Pages
PUBLISHER
Kensington Books
SELLER
Kensington Publishing Corp.