Emergence: Dave vs. the Monsters Emergence: Dave vs. the Monsters
Book 1 - David Hooper Trilogy

Emergence: Dave vs. the Monsters

    • 4.7 • 6 Ratings
    • $9.99
    • $9.99

Publisher Description

For fans of Jim Butcher and Kevin Hearne comes an action-packed new urban fantasy series featuring a tough, bleakly funny, down-on-his luck oil rig worker with an unlikely destiny as a monster-slayer and savior of the planet.
 
“Monsters,” said Vince Martinelli. “There are monsters on the rig, Dave.”
 
Dave Hooper has a hangover from hell, a horrible ex-wife, and the fangs of the IRS deep in his side. The last thing he needs is an explosion at work. A real explosion. On his off-shore oil rig.
 
But this is no accident, and despite the news reports, Dave knows that terrorists aren’t to blame. He knows because he killed one of the things responsible.
 
When he wakes up in a hospital bed guarded by Navy SEALs, he realizes this is more than just a bad acid trip. Yeah, Dave’s had a few. This trip is way weirder.
 
Killing a seven-foot-tall, tattooed demon has transformed the overweight, balding safety manager into something else entirely. A foul-mouthed, beer-loving monster slayer, and humanity’s least worthy Champion.

GENRE
Sci-Fi & Fantasy
RELEASED
2015
April 28
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
416
Pages
PUBLISHER
Random House Worlds
SELLER
Penguin Random House Canada
SIZE
7.5
MB

Customer Reviews

Ted_Canada ,

Great new adventure action filled Sci-Fi v. Magic.

Great new book from an excellent author. A science fiction, meets fantasy adventure - set in present day, but drawing in so much more..... The protagonist is flawed, realistic, and oh so human... What he gets into is soooooo much more....

Birmingham's characters, settings and action roll off the page like the coolest movie you haven't seen, playing out with all the action, humour and deep feeling on generated when characters get up off the page and into your head, your heart, or somewhere even deeper.

You don't just root for the protagonist, but for his crew of companions as well, it just to prevail, but sometimes just not to screw up...

It kicks off a trilogy that will be released months, nay really weeks apart, not years, to keep the good times rolling....

And if they next two books are as good as this one... The good times will roll on.

More Books Like This

The Remaining: Allegiance The Remaining: Allegiance
2015
Space Science Fiction Super Pack Space Science Fiction Super Pack
2016
The 14th Science Fiction MEGAPACK® The 14th Science Fiction MEGAPACK®
2019
The 18th Golden Age of Science Fiction MEGAPACK ®: Jerome Bixby The 18th Golden Age of Science Fiction MEGAPACK ®: Jerome Bixby
2015
Target Rich Environment Target Rich Environment
2018
Cats in Space and Other Places Cats in Space and Other Places
2016

More Books by John Birmingham

Weapons of Choice Weapons of Choice
2004
The Cruel Stars The Cruel Stars
2019
Angels of Vengeance Angels of Vengeance
2012
After America After America
2010
Designated Targets Designated Targets
2005
Final Impact Final Impact
2007

Customers Also Bought

Monster Hunter Memoirs: Sinners Monster Hunter Memoirs: Sinners
2016
Monster Hunter Memoirs: Saints Monster Hunter Memoirs: Saints
2018
Monster Hunter Memoirs: Grunge Monster Hunter Memoirs: Grunge
2016
Target Rich Environment, Volume 2 Target Rich Environment, Volume 2
2019
Hard Magic: Book I of the Grimnoir Chronicles Hard Magic: Book I of the Grimnoir Chronicles
2013
Target Rich Environment Target Rich Environment
2018

Other Books in This Series

Resistance: Dave vs. the Monsters Resistance: Dave vs. the Monsters
2015
Ascendance: Dave vs. the Monsters Ascendance: Dave vs. the Monsters
2015