Is There Bacon in Heaven? Is There Bacon in Heaven?

Is There Bacon in Heaven‪?‬

A Memoir

    • 4.7 • 3 Ratings
    • $14.99
    • $14.99

Publisher Description

For fans of Russell Peters, Trevor Noah, and Mark Critch comes a hilarious debut memoir about family, pursuing our passions, and figuring out who we are, by stand-up comedian and popular CBC host, Ali Hassan.

Growing up, Ali Hassan was a chameleon. His friends came from many different backgrounds and religions—Trinidadian, Parsi, Goan, Hindu, Christian, Sikh. And as a hockey-playing, Crock-Pot–using young man who also knew the words to at least ten Blue Rodeo songs, he could blend in everywhere. But the world has a funny way of reminding you who you are, and Hassan’s Muslim Pakistani family and community did, too.

In this heartfelt and funny memoir, based on his hit stand-up comedy, Hassan shares his lifelong journey to becoming a “cultural Muslim”—learning to walk the line of embracing his heritage while following his passions and being true to himself. From failing to learn Arabic—or much of anything—in Sunday school and visiting family in Pakistan who mocked him relentlessly, to discovering the wonders of pepperoni as a teenager and being a celebrity judge at Ribfest, he finds himself in compromising situations that challenge his beliefs and identity.

Now, as a father of four, he has to answer his children’s questions and try to explain his point of view. But he can’t just “give them” an identity as a cultural Muslim. Sharing his story is the next best thing.

With the perfect blend of humour and insight, Is There Bacon in Heaven? explores the deep need to belong that exists in everyone.

GENRE
Humour
RELEASED
2022
September 27
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
272
Pages
PUBLISHER
Simon & Schuster
SELLER
Simon & Schuster Canada
SIZE
4.9
MB

More Books Like This

The Wrong End of the Table The Wrong End of the Table
2019
I'm Not a Terrorist, But I've Played One On TV I'm Not a Terrorist, But I've Played One On TV
2015
Failure Is an Option Failure Is an Option
2018
Delete That Delete That
2022
Cool, Calm & Contentious Cool, Calm & Contentious
2011
Survival of the Thickest Survival of the Thickest
2020

More Books by Ali Hassan

The 800 Most Frequently Used Swahili Verbs The 800 Most Frequently Used Swahili Verbs
2005
Nanofluids for Heat Exchangers Nanofluids for Heat Exchangers
2022

Customers Also Bought

Looking for Jane Looking for Jane
2022
The Forgotten Home Child The Forgotten Home Child
2020
The Maid The Maid
2022
The Diamond Eye The Diamond Eye
2022
A Better Man A Better Man
2019
The Rose Code The Rose Code
2021