Publisher Description

A diehard romantic looking to start over in a small town.

Dr. Nina Benitez might be an astrophysicist and a scientist down to her bones, but she also believes in true love and happily ever after—and won't settle for anything less. After a rocky end to her first semester teaching at the University of Montana, she's looking forward to a new school year and a fresh start in the small town of Rifle Creek. When she meets her roommate's work partner, a sexy, hard-edged detective, Nina is immediately intrigued. However, it's soon clear they're like oil and water. But when she's confronted by the painful past event she wanted to forget, she faces an even greater danger. A predator is bent on silencing her forever, and Nina's only hope of survival is the unattainable man who's captured her heart.

A cynical cop determined to guard his heart.

Tate Baldwin has dedicated his life to serving and protecting, first in the military, and now as a detective in Rifle Creek. Badly burned by his last relationship, he isn't looking to get involved with anyone, especially a brilliant college professor who seems to have her head in the clouds. Yet even Tate can't deny the attraction between them that soon grows into something more. And when a secret from her past triggers a lethal threat, Tate will risk everything to stand between her and the monster who wants her dead.

July 28
Kaylea Cross Inc.
Draft2Digital, LLC

Customer Reviews

Sandy Sch ,

intriguing and edgy

LETHAL EDGE is the first instalment in Kaylea Cross’ contemporary, adult RIFLE CREEK romantic suspense series set in Rifle Creek, Montana. This is college professor Dr. Nina Gomez, and Detective Tate Baldwin’s story line.

Told from several third person perspectives including Tate and Nina LETHA EDGE follows the building romance and relationship between college professor Dr. Nina Gomez, and Detective Tate Baldwin. A car accident would bring Nina Gomez face to face with Detective Tate Baldwin, having no idea that Tate is her new roommates partner at work. An attack at a local bar involving two students, finds Nina struggling with memories of the past when one of the victims is found assaulted and dead. As Nina battles with what happened, the killer, once again, sets his sights on Nina, in an effort to finish the job he had been unable to complete. What ensues is the building romance and relationship between Nina and Tate, and the potential fall out as Nina is targeted in an effort to silence our heroine against what happened in the past.

Detective Tate Baldwin is a US army soldier, is hoping to start up a ranch and training facility, with two of his former buddies, geared toward private security but in the mean time Tate finds himself on the search for a killer who is targeting women at the University of Montana. Discovering the woman with who he is falling in love may be the killer’s next victim, Tate must act quickly before it is too late.

The relationship between Tate and Nina is one of immediate attraction that began with an accident that would pull our couple together when they quick discover that Nina is Tate’s work partner Avery’s new roommate. Believing himself not worthy of his own happily ever after Tate reveals he is no romantic but acts on instinct where Nina is involved. The $ex scenes are passionate and seductive without the use of over the top, sexually graphic language and text.

We are introduced to Tate’s niece Rylee; Nina’s best friend and Tate’s work partner Avery, and former army buddy Mason; as well as neighbor Curt Larsen and his fainting goats, and spinster sisters Bev and Pat whose friendly baking competition with Nina gets out of hand.

LETHAL EDGE is a story of power, vengeance and obsession; relationships, friendships, family and love. The premise is intriguing and edgy; the characters are spirited and sassy; the romance is tender and provocative.

cynsters ,

Lethal Edge

Exciting and sexy. Kept me on the edge all the way through. Strong characters and a fabulous dog⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️😃😃😃

More Books by Kaylea Cross

Other Books in This Series