• $4.99

Publisher Description

When her mother dies, Elizabeth Benjamin heads home to Key West, determined to transform herself into the perfect Southern belle her parents always wished her to be. But nothing goes according to plan. Her crippled brother resents her, the servants do not obey her, and Rourke O'Malley, the dashing man she vowed to forget, refuses to relinquish his hold on her heart. Worst of all, it becomes painfully obvious that her father is not the upright man he appears to be.


As family secrets come to light, Elizabeth is faced with a difficult choice: to do her duty and abandon her dreams, or to leave her life of privilege behind to chase the man her father sees as little better than a pirate.


From the first emotional page, author Christine Johnson throws readers into a world of impossible choices, hidden desires, and heart-melting romance in the steamy south. Readers will cheer for Elizabeth and Rourke as they battle the odds and the elements to secure their future.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2015
May 26
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
Revell
SELLER
Baker Book House Company
SIZE
3.7
MB

Customer Reviews

crtnybc ,

I definitely want to read more by this author!

I haven't read anything by Christine Johnson before, but I am glad to have found her. This is historical fiction set on the rather exotic Key West Island in Florida when it was still a bit wild. I loved the setting, and the characters just as much. In the beginning of the book Elizabeth is not terribly likeable, a spoiled socialite, but of course she grows and changes throughout the book. The way the author writes makes it a little more believable and organic than predictable - and there is nothing predictable about this book! Holy twists and turns Batman! Hang on to your hat. It's not just action, it's also a deeper, emotional ride with a theme of forgiveness and redemption through God's grace that I really appreciated.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book and look forward to the next book in the series. Fans of Ruth Axtell and Julie Klassen will want to check this one out!

This book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

More Books by Christine Johnson

Other Books in This Series