• $3.99

Publisher Description

MAHU FIRE, the third Mahu Investigation from Lambda Award finalist Neil S. Plakcy, begins as openly gay Honolulu homicide detective Kimo Kanapa'aka attends a local charity event in support of gay marriage. When a bomb disrupts the gala, Kimo, his family and friends are thrust into a deadly contest between the forces of good and evil.

A wave of religious fundamentalism sweeps through O'ahu, at the same time as violence against gay and lesbian-owned businesses is on the rise. Coincidence? Kimo doesn't think so. Working with hunky fire inspector Mike Riccardi – day and night – Kimo digs through the ashes to discover a motive for the attacks, as well as who is behind them.

MAHU FIRE showcases a handsome, sexy hero who struggles to overcome personal troubles and makes private sacrifices for the public good. Throw in an exotic tropical locale, plenty of aloha spirit and a dash of surf culture, as well as a slam-bang ending that puts Kimo and the people he cares about in danger, and you've got the makings of a page-turning mystery.

Winner of the Left Coast Crime award for best police procedural, and finalist for the Lambda Literary Award for best gay mystery. Perfect for fans of Joseph Hansen, Michael Nava, and John Morgan Wilson.

What the critics have said about the Mahu Investigations:

"Plakcy keeps the waves of suspense crashing!"               In LA Magazine

"Hits all the right notes as a mystery."                              Mystery Book News

"Kimo brings needed diversity to the genre, and the author handles the island setting well."                                                           Honolulu Star-Bulletin

"Spotless pace, intriguing plots twists, and an earnest depiction of challenges faced by people transitioning out of the closet."              Honolulu Advertiser

"Recommended to a wide audience."                                  Reviewing the Evidence

Fiction & Literature
July 23
Samwise Books
Draft2Digital, LLC

More Books by Neil S. Plakcy

Other Books in This Series