Stolen Children Stolen Children
Book 6 - DCI Matilda Darke Thriller

Stolen Children

    • 4.1 • 22 Ratings
    • $2.99
    • $2.99

Publisher Description

‘She is the perfect heroine’ Elly Griffiths

The addictive new crime thriller featuring DCI Matilda Darke. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons.

‘DCI Matilda Darke is going places’ James Oswald

Some cases won’t die.
A young boy walks into a police station in France. He claims to be Carl Meagan – a missing child from Sheffield whose name is still whispered as a warning to kids who stay out after dark.

Some children won’t be found.
On her way home from the supermarket, nine-year-old Keeley Armitage vanishes without trace. Her family is overcome with shock and DCI Matilda Darke can’t help but focus on memories of the Carl Meagan case that almost ruined her career.

Some killers won’t be stopped.
As Matilda investigates, she peels back the layers of grief and sadness that surround Keeley’s family. Until she is left with an unimaginable choice: betray those closest to her or let a violent killer walk free…

Reviews

Praise for Michael Wood:

‘A tense, nail-biting story with a truly twisted ending’ Katerina Diamond

“An established master of the serial killer novel takes us on another dangerous journey through the streets of Sheffield. Watch out for those twists – you won't see them coming!” Stephen Booth

‘A gritty and atmospheric thriller with more twists and turns than a hangman's knot. I loved it’ Matt Hilton

‘Solid storytelling and great unravelling of plot. Michael Wood ups the pace as the noose tightens’ Rachel Sargeant

‘Taut, twisting and sharp as a blade, The Hangman’s Hold wrong-footed me at every, devious turn’ Chris Whitaker

'Wood hit the ground running with For Reasons Unknown, first in the DCI Matilda Darke series. In the fourth instalment, The Hangman's Hold, he picks up the pace again with a twisting plot that races to a nail-biting finish’ Chris Simms

‘Bites into you like the rough twine of a hangman’s noose and refuses to let go. Tautly plotted, brilliantly realised, this is further proof that Michael Wood is only going to get better and better. The Hangman’s Hold is going to be big…’ Neil Broadfoot

Praise for Michael Wood:

‘You can count on Michael Wood to deliver a deliciously twisted and intriguing plot, leading to a surprise ending by a likeable and very real protagonist, Matilda Darke’ Yrsa Sigurdardottir

‘She is the perfect heroine’ Elly Griffiths

‘A pitch-black concept, tightly delivered and played at exhilarating pace’ Paul Finch

‘Crackling dialogue, dark wit and an exciting ending. Recommended if you liked Happy Valley’ Mark Edwards

‘DCI Matilda Darke is going places’ James Oswald

‘A compelling, addictive read, it’s hard to put down. I really enjoyed getting to know DCI Matilda Darke. She's strong character with real depth’ Robert Bryndza, bestselling author of THE GIRL IN THE ICE

‘A beautifully written book with a dark heart and a secret that impacts on generations’ Sarah Ward

About the author

Michael Wood is a freelance journalist and proofreader living in Sheffield. As a journalist he has covered many crime stories throughout Sheffield, gaining first-hand knowledge of police procedure. He also reviews books for CrimeSquad, a website dedicated to crime fiction.

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2020
October 2
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
400
Pages
PUBLISHER
One More Chapter
SELLER
Harper Collins Canada Limited
SIZE
2.2
MB

More Books Like This

The Toybox The Toybox
2020
The Next Girl The Next Girl
2018
A Breath After Drowning A Breath After Drowning
2018
The Bad Things The Bad Things
2015
All Good People Here All Good People Here
2022
The Detective Gina Harte Series: Books 1–3 The Detective Gina Harte Series: Books 1–3
2019

More Books by Michael Wood

For Reasons Unknown For Reasons Unknown
2015
The Mind of a Murderer The Mind of a Murderer
2024
A Room Full of Killers (DCI Matilda Darke, Book 3) A Room Full of Killers (DCI Matilda Darke, Book 3)
2017
Outside Looking In (DCI Matilda Darke, Book 2) Outside Looking In (DCI Matilda Darke, Book 2)
2016
The Hangman’s Hold The Hangman’s Hold
2018
The Murder House The Murder House
2020

Customers Also Bought

For All Our Sins (DCI Claire Winters Crime Series, Book 1) For All Our Sins (DCI Claire Winters Crime Series, Book 1)
2015
Bad Blood Bad Blood
2023
Deadly Fate Deadly Fate
2023
Home Fires Burn Home Fires Burn
2020
Hidden Scars Hidden Scars
2022
Sudden Death Sudden Death
2022

Other Books in This Series

Time Is Running Out Time Is Running Out
2021
Survivor’s Guilt Survivor’s Guilt
2021
The Lost Children The Lost Children
2022
Silent Victim Silent Victim
2022
Below Ground Below Ground
2023
Last One Left Alive Last One Left Alive
2024