The Bad Things The Bad Things
Alex Devlin

The Bad Things

    • $5.99
    • $5.99

Publisher Description

Book one in a darkly compelling psychological thriller series, full of twists and turns, perfect for fans of SISTER SISTER by Sue Fortin and INTO THE WATER by Paula Hawkins.

We all have our secrets, some are just darker than others.

Alex Devlin’s life changed forever fifteen years ago when her sister Sasha's two small children were snatched in broad daylight. Little Harry’s body was found a few days later, but Millie’s remains were never discovered.

Now Jackie Wood, jailed as an accessory to the twins’ murder, has been released, her conviction quashed by the Appeal Court. Convinced Jackie can reveal where Millie is buried, Alex goes to meet her.

But the unexpected information Wood reveals shocks Alex to the core and threatens to uncover the dark secret she has managed to keep under wraps for the past fifteen years. Because in the end, can we ever really know what is in the hearts of those closest to us?

Reviews

'A brilliant debut novel … The complex, fascinating plot winds between two time zones as the heroine seeks to uncover the cause of a terrible family tragedy. Riley’s real gift lies in her creation of one hundred percent real characters’ Kate Rhodes, author of RIVER OF SOULS

‘A dark tale set in a familiar world. Riley's characters are unexpected and yet completely believable and this sinister and twisty tale will definitely stay with the reader for a long time.’ Valentina Giambanco, author of THE GIFT OF DARKNESS

This book is brilliant … a read to be devoured. A twisty tale with a tense psychological plot … fresh, original and thrilling’ Tracy Shepherd, Postcard Reviews.

About the author

Mary-Jane Riley spent many years as a BBC journalist and talk show broadcaster, covering some of the darker stories of the last decade, including the Suffolk prostitute murders, the Cambridgeshire serial killer Joanna Dennehy and Operation Endeavour, the police operation to trap illegal gangmasters in the Fens. She has had short stories published in women’s magazines, including Bella, Women’s Weekly and That’s Life. Mary-Jane Riley is married with three children and lives in rural Suffolk. The Bad Things is her first novel.

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2015
August 27
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
332
Pages
PUBLISHER
One More Chapter
SELLER
Harper Collins Canada Limited
SIZE
2.7
MB

More Books Like This

Closer Than Blood Closer Than Blood
2011
A Breath After Drowning A Breath After Drowning
2018
Neighbors and Other Dangers Neighbors and Other Dangers
2021
A Cold Dark Place A Cold Dark Place
2011
See Her Hide (A Mia North FBI Suspense Thriller—Book Two) See Her Hide (A Mia North FBI Suspense Thriller—Book Two)
2022
Truth Games Truth Games
2020

More Books by Mary-Jane Riley

Dark Waters Dark Waters
2018
After She Fell After She Fell
2016
Gone in the Night Gone in the Night
2019
Kalte Strömung Kalte Strömung
2018
All die bösen Dinge All die bösen Dinge
2016

Customers Also Bought

Her Deadly Secret Her Deadly Secret
2017
Gone Missing Gone Missing
2017
Two Little Girls Two Little Girls
2019
The Broken Ones The Broken Ones
2022
The Darkest Summer The Darkest Summer
2019
The Choice The Choice
2018

Other Books in This Series

After She Fell After She Fell
2016
Dark Waters Dark Waters
2018
Gone in the Night Gone in the Night
2019