The Bear's Chosen Mate

    • 4.1 • 78 Ratings
    • $4.99
    • $4.99

Publisher Description

The stand alone first title in a brand-new shifter trilogy by New York Times bestselling author Vivian Arend.

Get mated—or else!

When their meddling, match-making family patriarch lays down the law, Giles Borealis’ three polar bear shifter grandsons agree to follow his edict. Only James, Alex and Cooper each have a vastly different plan in mind to deal with their impending mating fevers. Will any of them be able to fight fate?

Spoiler: not likely!

First up: James, the youngest of the brothers….

He’s going to accept his fate—but only with the woman he chooses!

Youngest brother James Borealis figures if he has to get mated, it should be with someone he already knows and cares about—his best friend Kaylee. But when the mating fever hits, she’s still stuck in friendshipland while he’s ready to move all the way to true love and forever.

Kaylee has heard about polar bear mating fever, but while James has held the starring role in her fantasies for a long time, she’s not about to leap into a permanent relationship that’s all wrong for him. He’s the PR powerhouse for Borealis Gems while she’s a quiet bobcat shifter with massive family baggage. He loves the spotlight; she wants to hide in quiet corners.

But mating fever knows best, and when the storm settles, there’s no use in arguing with a polar bear’s choice.

August 20
Arend Publishing Inc.
Arend Publishing Inc.

Customer Reviews

Tori678 ,

Friends to lovers/mates

One of my favourite tropes is the friend to lover, and The bears chosen mate didn’t disappoint. James and his brothers have been served an ultimatum by their interfering but loving grandfather stop trying to avoid finding a mate or he will sell out the family company to the competition. James the youngest brother decides his mate is his best friend Kaylee, but first he has to convince Kaylee to give him a chance. Cute, funny and fun I enjoyed reading their story and look forward to reading the next two books in the series.

MusicalKnitter ,

Loved it!

I loved the book & look forward to more books in this series:). The characters grew together & it was fun to visit this pack. Keep them coming!

Sandy Sch ,

3.5 stars-needed more background history

3.5 stars--THE BEAR’S CHOSEN MATE is the first instalment and novella in Vivian Arend’s contemporary, adult BOREALIS BEARS paranormal, romance series focusing on the polar bear shifters of the Borealis Bears. This is youngest brother businessman James Borealis, and feline shifter / photographer Kaylee Banks’ story line.

Told from several third person perspectives including James and Kaylee THE BEAR’S CHOSEN MATE follows the friends to lovers relationship between polar bear shifter James Borealis, and feline shifter Kaylee Banks. Patriarch Giles Borealis is hoping to hand over the reigns of Borealis Gems to his three grandsons but in an effort to help things along, Giles blackmails his heirs into finding mates, or lose control of Borealis Gems. James, Cooper and Alex have no intention of tying themselves down with one woman but the mating fever is about to take control. When the mating fever hits, James only wants one woman, his best friend, Kaylee Banks. What ensues is the mating dance between Kaylee and James, and the potential fall out as Kaylee doesn’t feel the urge to mate the same way James feels about his life-long friend.

THE BEAR’S CHOSEN MATE is a quick, erotic, paranormal read; an introductory tale that hints at a possible threat to Borealis Gems. A character driven story line, THE BEAR’S CHOSEN MATE is a fun, sassy and sexy look at shifters in love.

A couple of issues: I was hoping for a little more background history with regards to Kaylee and James; and the confusing addition of a shipment of ‘product ‘ from Kaylee’s parents, an addition that appears to come out of left field, without explanation or purpose-perhaps there is something in future instalments that explains this particular story line inclusion.

More Books by Vivian Arend


Customers Also Bought


Other Books in This Series