The Chilbury Ladies' Choir The Chilbury Ladies' Choir

The Chilbury Ladies' Choir

A Novel

    • 4.4 • 19 Ratings
    • $13.99
    • $13.99

Publisher Description

NATIONAL BESTSELLER • “A delightful debut.”—People 
 
For readers of Lilac Girls and The Nightingale, The Chilbury Ladies' Choir unfolds the struggles, affairs, deceptions, and triumphs of a village choir during World War II.

As England becomes enmeshed in the early days of World War II and the men are away fighting, the women of Chilbury village forge an uncommon bond. They defy the Vicar’s stuffy edict to close the choir and instead “carry on singing,” resurrecting themselves as the Chilbury Ladies’ Choir. We come to know the home-front struggles of five unforgettable choir members: a timid widow devastated when her only son goes to fight; the older daughter of a local scion drawn to a mysterious artist; her younger sister pining over an impossible crush; a Jewish refugee from Czechoslovakia hiding a family secret; and a conniving midwife plotting to outrun her seedy past.
 
An enchanting ensemble story that shuttles from village intrigue to romance to the heartbreaking matters of life and death, Jennifer Ryan’s debut novel thrillingly illuminates the true strength of the women on the home front in a village of indomitable spirit.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2017
February 14
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
384
Pages
PUBLISHER
Random House Publishing Group
SELLER
Penguin Random House Canada
SIZE
12.8
MB

More Books Like This

The Promise The Promise
2016
The Beach at Summerly The Beach at Summerly
2023
September Starlings September Starlings
2011
The French War Bride The French War Bride
2016
Fault Lines Fault Lines
2009
South of the Buttonwood Tree South of the Buttonwood Tree
2020

More Books by Jennifer Ryan

The Return of Brody McBride The Return of Brody McBride
2014
Dylan's Redemption Dylan's Redemption
2014
Falling for Owen Falling for Owen
2014
At Wolf Ranch At Wolf Ranch
2015
Saved by the Rancher Saved by the Rancher
2013
Her Lucky Cowboy Her Lucky Cowboy
2015

Customers Also Bought

An Island at War An Island at War
2021
The Girl from the Channel Islands The Girl from the Channel Islands
2021
A Single Thread A Single Thread
2019
The Last Letter from Juliet The Last Letter from Juliet
2019
The Last Runaway The Last Runaway
2013
Last Christmas in Paris Last Christmas in Paris
2017