• $4.99

Publisher Description

Difficult and defiant as a child, Bran Crowther, Earl of Knighton left England as a young man to pursue independence and adventure. He never expected to inherit the title and when duty calls him home, he still finds Society’s codes constricting and others’ expectations oppressive. Nevertheless, he needs a wife to be a mother to his young daughter, preferably a woman of intelligence and warmth who is, above all, immune to his idiosyncrasies—and to falling in love.

Widow Joanna Shaw isn’t interested in a second marriage, not after the loveless, passionless union she endured. She’d much rather dote on her young niece and nephew since they will likely be the only children in her life...until she meets a precocious girl, in desperate need of a mother. But her father, the so-called Duke of Defiance, is as peculiar as he is handsome, and Jo won’t take another risk with her heart. Their rules, however, are made to be broken, even when the consequences could destroy them both.

June 27
Darcy Burke
Darcy Burke

Customer Reviews

nmgski ,

Building a New Life

I read an ARC copy of this book in exchange for a fair review. The Duke of Defiance is one of a series of books called The Untouchables by Darcy Burke. It can be read as a stand alone but I think once you read it you will want to read the others as well because you meet the characters from the other books in this one and will be intrigued enough to want to read their stories too. The heroine Joanna Shaw is a widow and happily so… her marriage was deeply unhappy and has left her wounded and wondering what to do with the rest of her life. The hero Bran Crowther a third son has unexpectedly become the Earl of Knighton and so been forced to give up the life he created for himself in Barbados to return to England, a world where he never fit in. Bran experiences sensory sensitivity and is finding the demands of life in England to be extremely stressful. Their road to HEA is not without its twists and turns. Once again Darcy Burke has created very relatable characters and a story that will keep you reading past your bedtime.

More Books by Darcy Burke

Other Books in This Series