The German Girl

A Novel

    • 4.3 • 65 Ratings
    • $12.99
    • $12.99

Publisher Description

AN INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER

Featured in Entertainment Weekly, People, The Millions, and USA TODAY

“An unforgettable and resplendent novel which will take its place among the great historical fiction written about World War II.” —Adriana Trigiani, bestselling author of The Shoemaker's Wife


A young girl flees Nazi-occupied Germany with her family and best friend, only to discover that the overseas refuge they had been promised is an illusion in this “engrossing and heartbreaking” (Library Journal, starred review) debut novel, perfect for fans of The Nightingale, Lilac Girls, and The Tattooist of Auschwitz.

Berlin, 1939. Before everything changed, Hannah Rosenthal lived a charmed life. But now the streets of Berlin are draped in ominous flags; her family’s fine possessions are hauled away; and they are no longer welcome in the places they once considered home. A glimmer of hope appears in the shape of the St. Louis, a transatlantic ocean liner promising Jews safe passage to Cuba. At first, the liner feels like a luxury, but as they travel, the circumstances of war change, and the ship that was to be their salvation seems likely to become their doom.

New York, 2014. On her twelfth birthday, Anna Rosen receives a mysterious package from an unknown relative in Cuba, her great-aunt Hannah. Its contents inspire Anna and her mother to travel to Havana to learn the truth about their family’s mysterious and tragic past.

Weaving dual time frames, and based on a true story, The German Girl is a beautifully written and deeply poignant story about generations of exiles seeking a place to call home.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2016
October 18
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
368
Pages
PUBLISHER
Atria Books
SELLER
Simon & Schuster Canada
SIZE
45.6
MB

Customer Reviews

Shelley Lee ,

A New Perspective

I’ve read a lot of narratives of the Jewish people from this time and it amazes me how there is always more stories from new perspectives of the horror, and hatred that took place. I’d never heard of this historical event, and how other nations openly conspired to allow the Nazi’s to commit their horrendous acts of genocide. I finished the story wondering if Anna is a symbol of hope or if knowing her family’s history has just placed the curse on her shoulders? While Alma and Hannah’s life-long grief is realistic, the deaths of Louis and Gustov made me believe the family was cursed which takes the blame away from those who treated the Rosenthal’s unforgivingly.

More Books by Armando Lucas Correa

2019
2016
2023
2022
2021
2021

Customers Also Bought

2018
2017
2019
2019
2019
2019