The Girl in the Letter

    • 4.0 • 120 Ratings
    • $3.99
    • $3.99

Publisher Description

'A great book, truly hard to put down. Fast paced, brilliantly plotted and desperately sad at times - all hallmarks of a bestseller' Lesley Pearse on The Girl in the Letter

'I was gripped by The Girl in the Letter. The story is compelling, twisty, heart-wrenching and thought-provoking. A novel that stays with you' Sophie Kinsella

Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Kathryn Hughes, this gripping novel of long-buried secrets will stay with you for ever.

A heartbreaking letter. A girl locked away. A mystery to be solved.

1956. When Ivy Jenkins falls pregnant she is sent in disgrace to St Margaret's, a dark, brooding house for unmarried mothers. Her baby is adopted against her will. Ivy will never leave.

Present day. Samantha Harper is a journalist desperate for a break. When she stumbles on a letter from the past, the contents shock and move her. The letter is from a young mother, begging to be rescued from St Margaret's. Before it is too late.
Sam is pulled into the tragic story and discovers a spate of unexplained deaths surrounding the woman and her child. With St Margaret's set for demolition, Sam has only hours to piece together a sixty-year-old mystery before the truth, which lies disturbingly close to home, is lost for ever...

Read her letter. Remember her story...

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2018
August 1
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
Headline
SELLER
Hachette Digital, Inc.
SIZE
2.2
MB

Customer Reviews

SHAY_ROBAR ,

A new favourite

It’s been about two weeks since I have read this book and I have not been able to stop thinking about it!
This is a story that will stick with me for the rest of my life!
I’m amazed at how the author was able to create such dynamic characters, most of whom either suffered so much pain in their lives, or caused pain for other.
This book really puts a face to all the women and babies who suffered through the horrors of mother and baby catholic homes. Such a tragic part of history that is not well known and has been or at least tried to be well hidden for decades!

It was interesting to have the point of view of so many of the different characters through the novel, and it shed a light on how these situations are much more complex than we initially think.
It makes me sick to read about stories like this one, but at the same time it amazes me the resilience women have had to face through time.

Overall it is a intricately tragic and thrilling story told through multiple generations. I highly recommend this book.

••

BookTube: aGirlWithBookss
Insta: @aGirlWithBookss
Goodreads: Shaelene (aGirlWithBookss)
Twitter: @aGirlWithBookss

Raspberrytoes ,

The girl in the letter

A waste of time. The narrative drags on and on, confusing, and such a predictable ending.

Proffy789 ,

The Girl in the Letter

Well written and realistic but I can’t say that I liked it. What happened in the book was so grisly and horrible that I have had nightmares. I can see how it would be socially redeeming but it was a journalist’s essay about the horrors of the past that I would not have read had the blurb indicated that’s what it was.

More Books by Emily Gunnis

2019
2021
2022
2022
2021
2021

Customers Also Bought

2018
2015
2016
2019
2019
2018