The Mapmaker's Daughter The Mapmaker's Daughter

The Mapmaker's Daughter

A Novel

    • 3.8 • 14 Ratings
    • $13.99
    • $13.99

Publisher Description

A novel of the Venetian girl who became the most powerful woman in the Ottoman Empire—perfect for fans of Netflix’s Magnificent Century.
 
The Ottoman Empire was at the height of its power during the sixteenth century when Cecilia Baffo Veniero was kidnapped from her Venetian birthplace and chosen to be the wife of Selim II, successor to Sultan Suleiman the Magnificent. She would be known as Nurbanu.
 
The Mapmaker’s Daughter vividly imagines the confession of Nurbanu as she lies on her sickbed narrating the spectacular story of her rise to the pinnacle of imperial power, determined to understand how her extraordinary destiny was shaped. With unflinching candor, Nurbanu reviews the desires and motives that have both propelled and harmed her, as she considers her role as a devoted yet manipulative mother, helping to orchestrate her son’s succession to the throne. Serving as the appointed enforcer of one of the empire’s most crucial and shocking laws, Nurbanu confronts the consequences of her loves and her choices—right up to one last shattering revelation.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2017
July 25
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
368
Pages
PUBLISHER
Delphinium Books
SELLER
OpenRoad Integrated Media, LLC
SIZE
3.4
MB

More Books Like This

Anticipation Anticipation
2021
Hotsuka's Story Hotsuka's Story
2017
Song of the Nile Song of the Nile
2011
The Lost Queen The Lost Queen
2018
Kaikeyi Kaikeyi
2022
House of Illusions House of Illusions
1996

Customers Also Bought

The Stolen Girl (The Veil and the Crown, Book 1) The Stolen Girl (The Veil and the Crown, Book 1)
2014
The Iron Queen: A Novel of Boudica The Iron Queen: A Novel of Boudica
2018
The French Sultana (The Veil and the Crown, Book 2) The French Sultana (The Veil and the Crown, Book 2)
2014
The Maiden of All Our Desires The Maiden of All Our Desires
2022
Queen Margot Queen Margot
2020
Illuminations Illuminations
2012