The Story of Arthur Truluv The Story of Arthur Truluv

The Story of Arthur Truluv

A Novel

    • 4.3 • 12 Ratings
    • $15.99
    • $15.99

Publisher Description

“I dare you to read this novel and not fall in love with Arthur Truluv. His story will make you laugh and cry, and will show you a love that never ends, and what it means to be truly human.”—Fannie Flagg

An emotionally powerful novel about three people who each lose the one they love most, only to find second chances where they least expect them

“Fans of Meg Wolitzer, Emma Straub, or [Elizabeth] Berg’s previous novels will appreciate the richly complex characters and clear prose. Redemptive without being maudlin, this story of two misfits lucky to have found one another will tug at readers’ heartstrings.”—Booklist

For the past six months, Arthur Moses’s days have looked the same: He tends to his rose garden and to Gordon, his cat, then rides the bus to the cemetery to visit his beloved late wife for lunch. The last thing Arthur would imagine is for one unlikely encounter to utterly transform his life. 

Eighteen-year-old Maddy Harris is an introspective girl who visits the cemetery to escape the other kids at school. One afternoon she joins Arthur—a gesture that begins a surprising friendship between two lonely souls. Moved by Arthur’s kindness and devotion, Maddy gives him the nickname “Truluv.” As Arthur’s neighbor Lucille moves into their orbit, the unlikely trio band together and, through heartache and hardships, help one another rediscover their own potential to start anew.

Wonderfully written and full of profound observations about life, The Story of Arthur Truluv is a beautiful and moving novel of compassion in the face of loss, of the small acts that turn friends into family, and of the possibilities to achieve happiness at any age.

Praise for The Story of Arthur Truluv

“For several days after [finishing The Story of Arthur Truluv], I felt lifted by it, and I found myself telling friends, also feeling overwhelmed by 2017, about the book. Read this, I said, it will offer some balance to all that has happened, and it is a welcome reminder we’re all neighbors here.”Chicago Tribune

“Not since Paul Zindel’s classic The Pigman have we seen such a unique bond between people who might not look twice at each other in real life. This small, mighty novel offers proof that they should.”People, Book of the Week

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2017
November 21
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
240
Pages
PUBLISHER
Random House Publishing Group
SELLER
Penguin Random House Canada
SIZE
2.6
MB

More Books Like This

Night of Miracles Night of Miracles
2018
The Confession Club The Confession Club
2019
The Last Time I Saw You The Last Time I Saw You
2010
The Opposite of Maybe The Opposite of Maybe
2014
Vacationland Vacationland
2022
My Kind of People My Kind of People
2020

More Books by Elizabeth Berg

Tapestry of Fortunes Tapestry of Fortunes
2013
Say When Say When
2003
Once Upon a Time, There Was You Once Upon a Time, There Was You
2011
Never Change Never Change
2001
Open House Open House
2000
Night of Miracles Night of Miracles
2018

Customers Also Bought

Still Life with Bread Crumbs Still Life with Bread Crumbs
2014
The Brilliant Life of Eudora Honeysett The Brilliant Life of Eudora Honeysett
2020
Dollbaby Dollbaby
2014
The Stars Are Fire The Stars Are Fire
2017
The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper
2016
The Love Story of Missy Carmichael The Love Story of Missy Carmichael
2020