• $9.99

Publisher Description

*NATIONAL BESTSELLER

A haunting tale of love across time perfect for fans of Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series—from New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Susanna Kearsley.

1707. The walls of Slains castle shelter Jacobite rebels, who are conspiring to sail the young, exiled James Stewart from France into Scotland to reclaim his crown—and a young woman caught up in their plot.

Present day. Writer Carrie McClelland is enchanted by an impromptu trip to Cruden Bay, Scotland, and decides to settle in the tiny village, hoping to find inspiration for her novel about the Jacobite uprising in the area’s evocative past—and in the haunting ruins of the castle.

She creates a heroine named after one of her own ancestors, Sophia Paterson, and quickly finds the words flowing, almost faster than she can write them down. But, discovering that her novel inexplicably contains more fact than she can remember researching, Carrie wonders if she could possibly be dealing with ancestral memory—in effect “recalling” what her ancestor lived.

The only way to discover the truth is to continue writing and to bring to light the whole of Sophia’s story. With each new chapter, Carrie uncovers the tale of an innocent entangled in a dangerous enterprise, the secret of forbidden love, and the final betrayal that cost James his throne—and may cost Sophia her heart.

GENRE
Romance
RELEASED
2021
January 5
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
528
Pages
PUBLISHER
Simon & Schuster
SELLER
Simon & Schuster Canada
SIZE
10.2
MB

Customer Reviews

nmgski ,

Magical and Mystical

I received an ARC of this book to read through NetGalley. All opinions are my own. The Winter Sea by Susanna Kearsley is a reprint of a book first published in 2008. There have been several editions since then, including the one I discovered that I own which was published last year by Source Books. The version I read for review purposes is published by Simon and Schuster on January 5, 2021, and has a new cover. It looks to be available in both e-book editions and a trade paperback edition. The story moves between 1707/1708 Scotland and present-day Scotland. Present-day author Carrie Mclelland writes historical fiction and is struggling to come up with a point of view for her latest novel that explores an attempt by King James to claim the throne. When she discovers that an ancestor of hers, Sophia Paterson visited Slaine Castle at the time she is writing about, the story begins to write itself almost as if she is channelling her ancestor. I enjoyed the story very much and highly recommend reading it for both the romances in the past and the present that seem to echo each other.
Steam Level: Closed Door #NetGalley #TheWinterSea #SusannaKearsley #SimonAndSchusterCanada #HistoricalFiction #HistoricalRomance #bookstagram #bookstagramer

More Books by Susanna Kearsley