• $11.99

Publisher Description

A finalist for the Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize

A dazzling historical-fiction debut perfect for readers of Amy Tan and Lisa See

Civil war China is fractured by social and political change. Behind the magnificent gates of the Song family estate, however, none of this upheaval has touched Leiyin, a spoiled and idealistic teenager. But when Leiyin meets the captivating left-wing poet Hanchin, she defies her father and learns a harsh reality: that her father has the power to dictate her fate. Leiyin’s punishment for disobedience leads to exile from her family, an unwanted marriage and ultimately a lover’s betrayal—followed by her untimely death. Now a ghost, Leiyin must make amends to earn entry to the afterlife. But when her young daughter faces a dangerous future, Leiyin has to make a heart-wrenching choice.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2013
August 20
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
496
Pages
PUBLISHER
Harper Perennial
SELLER
Harper Collins Canada Limited
SIZE
1.8
MB

More Books by Janie Chang