Under a Veiled Moon Under a Veiled Moon
Book 2 - An Inspector Corravan Mystery

Under a Veiled Moon

    • 4.0 • 1 Rating
    • $18.99
    • $18.99

Publisher Description

In the tradition of C. S. Harris and Anne Perry, a fatal disaster on the Thames and a roiling political conflict set the stage for Karen Odden’s second Inspector Corravan historical mystery.

September 1878. One night, as the pleasure boat the Princess Alice makes her daily trip up the Thames, she collides with the Bywell Castle, a huge iron-hulled collier. The Princess Alice shears apart, throwing all 600 passengers into the river; only 130 survive. It is the worst maritime disaster London has ever seen, and early clues point to sabotage by the Irish Republican Brotherhood, who believe violence is the path to restoring Irish Home Rule. 
 
For Scotland Yard Inspector Michael Corravan, born in Ireland and adopted by the Irish Doyle family, the case presents a challenge. Accused by the Home Office of willfully disregarding the obvious conclusion, and berated by his Irish friends for bowing to prejudice, Corravan doggedly pursues the truth, knowing that if the Princess Alice disaster is pinned on the IRB, hopes for Home Rule could be dashed forever.

Corrovan’s dilemma is compounded by Colin, the youngest Doyle, who has joined James McCabe’s Irish gang. As violence in Whitechapel rises, Corravan strikes a deal with McCabe to get Colin out of harm’s way. But unbeknownst to Corravan, Colin bears longstanding resentments against his adopted brother and scorns his help.
 
As the newspapers link the IRB to further accidents, London threatens to devolve into terror and chaos. With the help of his young colleague, the loyal Mr. Stiles, and his friend Belinda Gale, Corravan uncovers the harrowing truth—one that will shake his faith in his countrymen, the law, and himself.

GENRE
Mysteries & Thrillers
RELEASED
2022
October 11
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
336
Pages
PUBLISHER
CROOKED LANE BOOKS
SELLER
Penguin Random House Canada
SIZE
3.9
MB

More Books Like This

A Lady in the Smoke A Lady in the Smoke
2016
The Daemoniac (A Gaslamp Gothic Victorian Paranormal Mystery) The Daemoniac (A Gaslamp Gothic Victorian Paranormal Mystery)
2016
Dead Ringer (A Gaslamp Gothic Victorian Paranormal Mystery) Dead Ringer (A Gaslamp Gothic Victorian Paranormal Mystery)
2019
Peril at the Exposition Peril at the Exposition
2022
A Pretty Deceit A Pretty Deceit
2020
Death in the East Death in the East
2019

More Books by Karen Odden

A Lady in the Smoke A Lady in the Smoke
2016
Down a Dark River Down a Dark River
2021
A Trace of Deceit A Trace of Deceit
2019
A Dangerous Duet A Dangerous Duet
2018
Black Cat Weekly #108 Black Cat Weekly #108
2023
Un duetto pericoloso Un duetto pericoloso
2020

Customers Also Bought

Murder in Bloomsbury Murder in Bloomsbury
2018
Murder at the Opera Murder at the Opera
2019
A Mortal Likeness A Mortal Likeness
2018
The Paris Affair The Paris Affair
2013
Portrait of Peril Portrait of Peril
2021
Murder in Mayfair Murder in Mayfair
2017

Other Books in This Series