Veg-table Veg-table

Veg-table

Recipes, Techniques, and Plant Science for Big-Flavored, Vegetable-Focused Meals

    • $20.99
    • $20.99

Publisher Description

Named a Best Cookbook of the Year by NPR, The Los Angeles Times, Epicurious, Vice, Food Network, Good Housekeeping, and more, and a Best Cookbook of Fall 2023 by Bon Appetit, Food & Wine, Eater, The Strategist, and more. From the bestselling author of The Flavor Equation and Season and winner of the 2023 IACP Trailblazer Award: A fascinating exploration of the unique wonders of more than fifty vegetables through captivating research, stunning photography, and technique-focused recipes. "Groundbreaking, inspiring, delicious: Nik Sharma’s Veg-Table is everything I’d hoped for and more!”—Nigella Lawson, author of Cook, Eat, Repeat Nik Sharma, blogger at A Brown Table, Serious Eats columnist, and bestselling cookbook author, brings us his most cookable collection of recipes yet in Veg-table. Here is a technique-focused repertoire for weeknight mains for cooks of all skill levels looking to add more delicious and satisfying vegetable dishes to their diet. Combining the scientific underpinnings of The Flavor Equation with the inviting and personal recipes of Season, this book features more than fifty vegetables, revealing their origins, biology, and unique characteristics. Vegetable-focused recipes are organized into chapters by plant family, with storage, buying, and cooking methods for all. The result is a recipe collection of big flavors and techniques that are tried, true, and perfected by rigorous testing and a deep scientific lens.  Included here are Sharma’s first-ever pasta recipes published in a cookbook: Pasta with Broccoli Miso Sauce, Shallot and Spicy Mushroom Pasta, and more. And vegetable-focused doesn’t mean strictly vegetarian; bring plants and animal protein together with delicious recipes like Chicken Katsu with Poppy Seed Coleslaw and Crispy Salmon with Green Curry Spinach. A wide variety of hot and cold soups, salads, sides, sauces, and rice-, egg-, and bean-based dishes round out this collection. Featuring more than 100 of Sharma’s gorgeous and evocative photographs, as well as instructive illustrations, this cookbook perfectly balances beauty, intellect, and delicious, achievable recipes. FOLLOW-UP TO TWO CRITICALLY ACCLAIMED BOOKS: Season was a finalist for a James Beard Award and an IACP award. It was on the most prominent cookbook best-of lists, including the New York Times Best Cookbooks, NPR’s Favorite Cookbooks, and Bon Appetit’s Best Cookbooks gift guide; it was also an Amazon Book of the Month. The Flavor Equation was named one of the best cookbooks of the year by the New York Times, Eater, Epicurious, Food & Wine, Forbes, Saveur, Serious Eats, Smithsonian magazine, the San Francisco Chronicle, the Los Angeles Times, the Boston Globe, the Chicago Tribune, CNN Travel, The Kitchn, Chowhound, NPR, The Art of Eating 2021 longlist and many more; plus it garnered international media attention including from the Financial Times, the Globe and Mail, The Telegraph, The Guardian, The Independent, The Times (U.K.), Delicious Magazine (U.K.), The Times (Ireland), and Vogue India. It was the winner of the Guild of U.K. Food Writers (General Cookbook). It was a finalist for the 2021 IACP Cookbook Award. AN ESTABLISHED AUTHOR: Sharma is a regular contributor to the popular Serious Eats food platform, where his pieces on the science of flavor reach millions of readers nationwide. UNIQUE YET ACCESSIBLE VEGGIE-FORWARD RECIPES: Not only does Sharma write recipes for every palate, but he writes them for every level of cook, from novices to seasoned chefs. This book melds his science-forward thinking with accessible yet delicious vegetable-based recipes for an engaging and unexpected combination. Perfect for: Fans of Nik Sharma, Season, and The Flavor Equation Vegetarians and flexitarians  Those looking to add more plants to their diet Home cooks looking for a new challenge who are interested in learning more about food and flavor Birthday, holiday, housewarming, or graduation gift for food enthusiasts Fans of The Food...

  • GENRE
    Cookbooks, Food & Wine
    RELEASED
    2023
    October 24
    LANGUAGE
    EN
    English
    LENGTH
    352
    Pages
    PUBLISHER
    Chronicle Books LLC
    SELLER
    Chronicle Books LLC
    SIZE
    143.3
    MB

    More Books Like This

    The Book of Greens The Book of Greens
    2017
    Eating from the Ground Up Eating from the Ground Up
    2018
    Use it All Use it All
    2020
    Savour Savour
    2016
    Mastering the Art of Southern Vegetables Mastering the Art of Southern Vegetables
    2015
    Root-to-Stalk Cooking Root-to-Stalk Cooking
    2013

    More Books by Nik Sharma

    The Flavor Equation The Flavor Equation
    2020
    Season Season
    2018
    L'Équation des saveurs L'Équation des saveurs
    2022
    Zauber der Gewürze Zauber der Gewürze
    2022

    Customers Also Bought

    Ever-Green Vietnamese Ever-Green Vietnamese
    2023
    Veg Forward Veg Forward
    2023
    Pulp Pulp
    2023
    Food52 Big Little Recipes Food52 Big Little Recipes
    2021
    Snacks for Dinner Snacks for Dinner
    2022
    Mumbai Modern: Vegetarian Recipes Inspired by Indian Roots and California Cuisine Mumbai Modern: Vegetarian Recipes Inspired by Indian Roots and California Cuisine
    2021