The Book of Last Letters The Book of Last Letters

The Book of Last Letters

    • CHF 17.00

    • CHF 17.00

Beschreibung des Verlags

‘Heart-breaking but so uplifting – Kerry really is a hugely talented voice.’ Nicola Cornick, author of The Forgotten Sister

Inspired by an incredible true story, this is an unforgettable novel about love, loss and one impossible choice…

London, 1940
When nurse Elsie offers to send a reassuring letter to the family of a patient, she has an idea. She begins a book of last letters: messages to be sent on to wounded soldiers’ loved ones should the very worst come to pass, so that no one is left without a final goodbye.

But one message will change Elsie’s life forever. When a patient makes a devastating request, can Elsie find the strength to do the unthinkable?

London, present day
Stephanie has a lot of people she’d like to speak to: her estranged brother, to whom her last words were in anger; her nan, whose dementia means she is only occasionally lucid enough to talk.

When she discovers a book of wartime letters, Stephanie realises the importance of our final words – and uncovers the story of a secret love, a desperate choice, and the unimaginable courage of the woman behind it all…

A moving and compelling historical novel from the author of The Girl in the Picture, perfect for fans of The Nightingale and The Keeper of Happy Endings.

Readers LOVE The Book of Last Letters!

‘I loved this book from beginning to end. It was one of those books that you just couldn't put down… One of the best books I have read.’ NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘A blinder of a novel. A brilliant story that at times is heartwarming and yet at other times heartbreaking.’ NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘A gripping and emotional read that will stay with me for a long time.’ NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘An incredible read and I absolutely loved it.’ NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘An absolutely beautiful book… It’s a definite read and read again for me.’ NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘What a beautiful story. It took me on an emotional rollercoaster… I couldn't put it down.’ NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Gripping… Such a wonderful read.’ NetGalley Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Reviews

‘Wonderful… Both heart-warming and heart-breaking… Unputdownable.’ Kathleen McGurl, author of The Girl from Bletchley Park

‘Poignant and full of heart, this is a beautiful read about love, kindness and impossible choices… Heart-breaking but ultimately uplifting.’ Annie Lyons, author of Eudora Honeysett Is Quite Well, Thank You

About the author

Kerry Barrett was a bookworm from a very early age and did a degree in English Literature, then trained as a journalist, writing about everything from pub grub to EastEnders. Her first novel, Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered, took six years to finish and was mostly written in longhand on her commute to work, giving her a very good reason to buy beautiful notebooks. Kerry lives in London with her husband and two sons, and Noel Streatfeild’s Ballet Shoes is still her favourite novel.

GENRE
Liebesromane
ERZÄHLER:IN
HD
Harrie Dobby
SPRACHE
EN
Englisch
DAUER
12:40
Std. Min.
ERSCHIENEN
2022
30. März
VERLAG
HQ Digital
GRÖSSE
754.8
 MB

Hörer kauften auch

The Widows of Champagne The Widows of Champagne
2021
In Another Time In Another Time
2019
Resistance Women Resistance Women
2019
All the Ways We Said Goodbye All the Ways We Said Goodbye
2020
The Irish Boarding House The Irish Boarding House
2022
The German Nurse The German Nurse
2021