The French Chateau Escape The French Chateau Escape

The French Chateau Escape

    • 16,99 €

    • 16,99 €

Beschreibung des Verlags

Click buy: a French chateau. Condition: ‘may require improvement’…

It seemed like a good idea. Selling everything we owned. Just Mark and me, swapping our tiny, little, terraced London home – and the heartbreak of not being able to start a family – for an entire chateau in the middle of France… It’s everyone’s dream. And now it’s coming true for us.

As I use the rusty key to open the big, creaking wooden door of the tumbledown fairytale chateau that’s officially our new home, I wonder: what could possibly go wrong?

Little do I know that the answer is going to be… ‘everything’. I don’t speak nearly as much French as I should yet, but I feel like there’s no mistaking the villagers’ hostility. Nor the look of shock on the builder’s face when he sees the roof.

Can our marriage survive this adventure? With all the tumbling masonry, will we?

As the French sun blazes overhead, one thing’s for sure: it’s going to be a year to remember…

A gorgeously escapist read from the bestselling author of A Year at the French Farmhouse and A Month in Provence. Perfect for fans of Veronica Henry, Jo Thomas and Jennifer Bohnet.

Readers are loving The French Chateau Escape:

‘A perfect book for anyone who has a dream!’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘A touching story about finding the strength you didn’t know you had. Warm, funny and downright wonderful. I loved it.’ Nicola Gill, author

‘If you’re planning to buy a ramshackle chateau in France and you enjoy engaging, highly readable fiction, this is the book for you. And if you have no chateau plans, you can still live the adrenalin-filled experience on every page of Gillian Harvey's latest novel!’ Sue Teddern, author of The Pre-Loved Club

‘This really is the ideal piece of escapism.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘A heartwarming story of a couple restoring a French chateau with plenty of surprises along the way and some laugh out loud moments – loved it!’ Catherine Cooper, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Chalet

‘An emotional and heartwarming story of love, loss, and taking charge of your life… [It] hooked me from beginning to end with rich characters that found their way into my heart.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Heart and humour in rural France… Harvey knows how take her characters on a journey… The part of the story that struck me the most though is the way she writes about the relationship between Emma, her sister and father – which really made the tears flow when the heartwarming ending rolls around.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I’ve read all of Harvey’s novels set in France and I think this one might be my favourite… It's definitely a “feel good” read (in the end) with a lot of very realistic scenarios depicted… You’ll finish this in one or two sittings so grab a hot chocolate, tea or a glass of wine and settle in for the ride. A great read for some armchair travel!’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I honestly think that this is the best book yet from Gillian Harvey. I genuinely laughed… I would challenge anyone to find a better story than this one, for pure comedy… pulls at your heartstrings too. I cannot recommend this book enough, it’s trulyfabulous.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

GENRE
Belletristik
ERZÄHLER:IN
LS
Lucy Scott
SPRACHE
EN
Englisch
DAUER
07:56
Std. Min.
ERSCHIENEN
2023
8. November
VERLAG
Boldwood Books
GRÖSSE
356,6
 MB