Nothing More Dangerous Nothing More Dangerous

Nothing More Dangerous

    • 3,99 €
    • 3,99 €

Beschreibung des Verlags

'This powerful, unforgettable crime novel is a coming-of-age book to rival some of the best, such as William Kent Krueger's Ordinary Grace or Larry Watson's Montana 1948 . . . A must-read.' Library Journal (starred review)

In a small town where loyalty is valued above all, defying unspoken rules can be deadly. A coming-of-age novel for fans of Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter.

At fifteen, Boady Sanden dreams of being anywhere other than Jessup, Missouri. Then the Elgins move in across the road. Getting to know his new neighbours - a black family in a community where notions of "us" and "them" still carry weight - Boady is forced to rethink the world he took for granted.

Secrets hidden in plain sight begin to unfold. There's the mother consumed by loss of her husband, the neighbour who carries the wounds of a mysterious past, the quiet boss fighting a hidden battle.

But the biggest secret of all is the disappearance of Lida Poe, the African-American woman who keeps the books at the local factory. Although Boady has never met the missing woman, he discovers that the threads of her life are woven into the deepest fabric of his world.

As the mystery of Lida's fate plays out, Boady begins to see the stark lines of race and class that both bind and divide this small town - and he will be forced to choose sides.

GENRE
Krimis und Thriller
ERSCHIENEN
2019
14. November
SPRACHE
EN
Englisch
UMFANG
320
Seiten
VERLAG
Hodder & Stoughton
GRÖSSE
3,7
 MB

Mehr ähnliche Bücher

All the Lovely Children All the Lovely Children
2018
Five Still Missing Five Still Missing
2012
The Bramble and the Rose: A Henry Farrell Novel The Bramble and the Rose: A Henry Farrell Novel
2020
The Poacher's Son The Poacher's Son
2010
Dry Bones in the Valley Dry Bones in the Valley
2014
The Mike Bowditch Series, Books 1-3 The Mike Bowditch Series, Books 1-3
2015

Mehr Bücher von Allen Eskens

Das Leben, das wir begraben Das Leben, das wir begraben
2018
Die Schatten, die wir verbergen Die Schatten, die wir verbergen
2019
Verità sepolte Verità sepolte
2015
The Stolen Hours The Stolen Hours
2021
Die Wahrheit, die uns zweifeln lässt Die Wahrheit, die uns zweifeln lässt
2020
In Gestalt eines Anderen In Gestalt eines Anderen
2019

Kund:innen kauften auch

Con Law Con Law
2013
The Abduction The Abduction
2008
The Broken Places The Broken Places
2014
The Forgotten Man The Forgotten Man
2010
The Last Detective The Last Detective
2010
Indigo Slam Indigo Slam
2010