Shuggie Bain Shuggie Bain

Shuggie Bain

The Million-Copy Bestseller

    • 4,8 • 9 Bewertungen
    • 5,99 €
    • 5,99 €

Beschreibung des Verlags

WINNER OF THE BOOKER PRIZE
WINNER OF 'BOOK OF THE YEAR' AND 'DEBUT OF THE YEAR' AT THE BRITISH BOOK AWARDS
THE MILLION-COPY BESTSELLER

'An amazingly intimate, compassionate, gripping portrait of addiction, courage and love.' – The judges of the Booker Prize

'Douglas Stuart has written a first novel of rare and lasting beauty.' – The Observer

'Shuggie Bain means so much to me. It is such a powerfully written story . . . I love a heartbreak book but there is so much love within this one, particularly between Shuggie and his mother Agnes.' – Dua Lipa


It is 1981. Glasgow is dying and good families must grift to survive. Agnes Bain has always expected more from life, dreaming of greater things. But Agnes is abandoned by her philandering husband, and as she descends deeper into drink, the children try their best to save her, yet one by one they must abandon her to save themselves.

It is her son Shuggie who holds out hope the longest. Shuggie is different, he is clearly no’ right. But Shuggie believes that if he tries his hardest, he can be normal like the other boys and help his mother escape this hopeless place.

Shuggie Bain lays bare the ruthlessness of poverty, the limits of love, and the hollowness of pride. For readers of A Little Life and Angela's Ashes, it is a heartbreaking novel by a brilliant writer with a powerful and important story to tell.

'A heartbreaking novel' – The Times

'Tender and unsentimental . . . The Billy Elliot-ish character of Shuggie . . . leaps off the page.' – Daily Mail

GENRE
Belletristik und Literatur
ERSCHIENEN
2020
20. Februar
SPRACHE
EN
Englisch
UMFANG
448
Seiten
VERLAG
Pan Macmillan
GRÖSSE
1,7
 MB

Mehr ähnliche Bücher

Mrs. Somebody Somebody Mrs. Somebody Somebody
2010
Seesaw Seesaw
2012
The Hearth and Eagle The Hearth and Eagle
2012
The Little Friend The Little Friend
2011
The River Wife The River Wife
2007
The Hard Blue Sky The Hard Blue Sky
2012

Mehr Bücher von Douglas Stuart

Shuggie Bain Shuggie Bain
2021
Young Mungo Young Mungo
2023
Young Mungo Young Mungo
2022
Effektives Bibelstudium Effektives Bibelstudium
2015
Young Mungo Young Mungo
2022
How to Read the Bible for All Its Worth How to Read the Bible for All Its Worth
2014

Kund:innen kauften auch

Hamnet Hamnet
2020
Sorrow and Bliss Sorrow and Bliss
2020
The Heart's Invisible Furies The Heart's Invisible Furies
2017
Girl A Girl A
2021
Girl, Woman, Other Girl, Woman, Other
2019
The Promise The Promise
2021