The Quantum Thief

The epic hard SF heist thriller for fans of THE MATRIX and NEUROMANCER

    • 3,8 • 4 Bewertungen
    • 5,49 €
    • 5,49 €

Beschreibung des Verlags

The solar system's greatest thief is wanted for murder. To prove his innocence, he needs to pull off a heist even he thought was impossible . . .

The Quantum Thief is a dazzling hard SF novel set in the solar system of the far future - a heist novel peopled by bizarre post-humans but powered by very human motives of betrayal, revenge and jealousy. It is a stunning debut.

Jean le Flambeur is a post-human criminal, mind burglar, confidence artist and trickster. His origins are shrouded in mystery, but his exploits are known throughout the Heterarchy - from breaking into the vast Zeusbrains of the Inner System to steal their thoughts, to stealing rare Earth antiques from the aristocrats of the Moving Cities of Mars.

Except that Jean made one mistake. Now he is condemned to play endless variations of a game-theoretic riddle in the vast virtual jail of the Axelrod Archons - the Dilemma Prison - against countless copies of himself.

Jean's routine of death, defection and cooperation is upset by the arrival of Mieli and her spidership, Perhonen. She offers him a chance to win back his freedom and the powers of his old self - in exchange for finishing the one heist he never quite managed . . .

Readers have been gripped by THE QUANTUM THIEF:

'I am very surprised and delighted by this novel . . . this monolith of story, this dire-light, this cutting of an epic gordian knot has got to be one of the classics of literature'- Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

'I enjoyed the hell out of this and am eating up the rest of the series without hesitation' - Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

'I cannot emphasize how much I love and appreciate the depth and complexity that [The Quantum Thief] realizes. Rajaniemi has crafted a hard science masterpiece that sets up a wonderful series' - Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

'This really is one of my all time favourite High Concept SciFi novels. It's an unrelenting stream of far out tech and cultural experimentation taken to extremes.' - Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

'Complex & yet compulsively readable . . . The Quantum Thief is one of the most innovative debut novels I've ever read!' - Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

'I really don't remember last time when I was excited in such way by a book . . . surely the best debut in this genre for a long time' - Goodreads reviewer, ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

GENRE
Science-Fiction und Fantasy
ERSCHIENEN
2010
30. September
SPRACHE
EN
Englisch
UMFANG
448
Seiten
VERLAG
Orion
GRÖSSE
1,2
 MB

Mehr Bücher von Hannu Rajaniemi

2012
2014
2018
2016
2011
2022

Kund:innen kauften auch

2018
2020
2017
2021
2021
2018