• 42,00 kr

Publisher Description

Stunning debut dual timeline novel about the real Juliet, who inspired the story of Romeo and Juliet. Perfect for fans of Barbara Erskine.

When Julie Jacobs inherits a key to a safety deposit box in Siena, she is told it will lead her to an old family treasure. Soon she is launched on a precarious journey into the true history of her ancestor Giulietta, whose legendary love for a young man named Romeo inspired Shakespeare's unforgettable story.
As Julie crosses paths with the descendants of the families who turned medieval Siena upside down, she begins to realize that the notorious curse – 'a plague on both your houses!' – is still at work.
Spanning centuries, Juliet is an unforgettable adventure that hopes to rewrite the fate of the star-crossed lovers, and reunite them at last.

Reviews

Praise for Juliet:

‘Fortier clearly knows Shakespeare back to front and makes this a faboulous read’ Woman and Home

‘A truly fabulous book. We will never see Romeo and Juliet in quite the same way again.’ Alison Weir

‘Ingenious, intriguing, a thrilling story that keeps you turning the pages. This is a wonderfully textured novel of history and imagination that brings Italy, past and present, beautifully to life.’ Kate Mosse, author of Labyrinth and Sepulchre

About the author

Anne Fortier grew up in Europe, in Denmark mainly, and studied for her PhD there, including spending a year at Oxford, where she met her husband. After university she moved to the US, where she worked in film and television before writing Juliet, inspired by the very first Romeo and Juliet story, which was set in Siena. While completing her Ph.D. Anne spent two terms as an Associate Graduate Member of Corpus Christi College, Oxford, and this is where she met her husband.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2010
August 19
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
528
Pages
PUBLISHER
HarperCollins
SIZE
1.2
MB

More Books by Anne Fortier