We Have No Idea We Have No Idea

We Have No Idea

A Guide to the Unknown Universe

    • 2,99 €
    • 2,99 €

Descripción editorial

'This witty book reveals the humbling vastness of our ignorance about the universe, along with charming insights into what we actually do understand' Carlo Rovelli, author of Seven Brief Lessons on Physics and Reality Is Not What It Seems

In our small corner of the universe, we know how some matter behaves most of the time and what even less of it looks like, and we have some good guesses about where it all came from. But we really have no clue what's going on. In fact, we don't know what about 95% of the universe is made of.

So what happens when a cartoonist and a physicist walk into this strange, mostly unknown universe? Jorge Cham and Daniel Whiteson gleefully explore the biggest unknowns, why these things are still mysteries, and what a lot of smart people are doing to figure out the answers (or at least ask the right questions).

While they're at it, they helpfully demystify many complicated things we do know about, from quarks and neutrinos to gravitational waves and exploding black holes. With equal doses of humour and delight, they invite us to see the universe as a vast expanse of mostly uncharted territory that's still ours to explore.

This is a book for fans of Brian Cox and What If. This highly entertaining highly illustrated book is perfect for anyone who's curious about all the great mysteries physicists are going to solve next.

GÉNERO
Ciencia y naturaleza
PUBLICADO
2017
16 de mayo
IDIOMA
EN
Inglés
EXTENSIÓN
368
Páginas
EDITORIAL
John Murray Press
TAMAÑO
18,8
MB

Más libros de Jorge Cham & Daniel Whiteson

We Have No Idea We Have No Idea
2017
No tenemos ni idea No tenemos ni idea
2018
Out of Your Mind Out of Your Mind
2025
Elinor Wonders Why: Backyard Soup Elinor Wonders Why: Backyard Soup
2024
Elinor Wonders Why: The Search for Baby Butterflies Elinor Wonders Why: The Search for Baby Butterflies
2024
Oliver objaśnia wszechświat Oliver objaśnia wszechświat
2024

Otros clientes también compraron

How To How To
2019
What If? What If?
2014
The Body The Body
2019
What's Our Problem? What's Our Problem?
2023
Foundation Foundation
2018
The Art of War The Art of War
2010