Borrowed Time

A gripping private investigator series

    • 2,99 €
    • 2,99 €

Publisher Description

When Cass Raines, the former Chicago cop turned private investigator, looks into a suspicious death she makes some powerful enemies...

Being a PI can be slow work, sitting around in cars on a stakeout, or serving summonses. But once in a while, it leads straight to danger. When Cass hears about the death of Tim Ayers, she agrees to look into the circumstances. A choice she may come to regret.

Ayers was from a wealthy Chicago family, and was found dead in Lake Michigan, in the water near his luxury boat. Cass begins digging and is surprised to learn that Tim Ayers was terminally ill. Given the large quantities of alcohol and drugs found in his body, his death appears to be either an accident or suicide.

Yet Cass soon realises there are too many unanswered questions and unexplained coincidences. It could be murder. But why would anyone kill a dying man? Cass’s persistence attracts unwanted attention, putting her life in danger and uncovering sinister secrets she may end up taking to her grave.

The gripping second instalment of a private investigator crime series, that is perfect for fans of Ian K. Smith, Sue Grafton and the Cormoran Strike novels.

Praise for Tracy Clark

Runner nominated for the Sue Grafton Memorial Award from the Mystery Writers of America’s Edgar Award

‘This street-smart first mystery boasts great characterization and a terrific new protagonist. Get this writer on your radar now.’ Booklist

Unforgettable. . . . Distinctive, vividly written characters lift this promising debut. Readers will be eager for the sequel.’ Publishers Weekly, STARRED REVIEW

‘Clark’s kickoff to an exciting new character-driven series explores the dynamics between a black investigator and a white world in a story ripped from the headlines.’ Kirkus Reviews

‘Clark’s compelling, suspenseful, and action-packed debut introduces a dogged, tough African American woman investigator who is complex and courageous and surrounded by a family of fascinating misfits. Fans of Sue Grafton’s Kinsey Millhone or Sara Paretsky’s V.I Warshawski will welcome Cass Raines to their ranks.’ Library Journal, STARRED REVIEW

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2021
15 March
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
473
Pages
PUBLISHER
Canelo
SIZE
1.1
MB

More Books by Tracy Clark

2021
2021
2021
2016
2016
2016

Other Books in This Series

2021
2021