The Winter Garden The Winter Garden

The Winter Garden

    • 19,99 €

    • 19,99 €

Description de l’éditeur

‘An enchanting timeslip novel that kept me spellbound’ CHRISTINA COURTENAY

‘Fascinating and captivating’ SARAH MORGAN

‘Glorious… I adored it’ KATHLEEN MCGURL

‘This atmospheric novel is such an absorbing read’ MY WEEKLY

***

Remember, remember, the fifth of November…

1605: Anne Catesby fears for her family. Her son, the darkly charismatic Robert, is secretly plotting to kill the King, placing his wife and child in grave danger. Anne must make a terrible choice: betray her only child, or risk her family’s future.

Present day: When her dreams of becoming a musician are shattered, Lucy takes refuge in her family’s ancestral home in Oxfordshire. Everyone knows it was originally home to Robert Catesby, the gunpowder plotter. As Lucy spends more time in the beautiful winter garden that Robert had made, she starts to have strange visions of a woman in Tudor dress, terrified and facing a heartbreaking dilemma.

As Lucy and Anne’s stories converge, a shared secret that has echoed through the centuries separating them, will change Lucy’s life forever…

Sweeping generations from the 1600s to the present day, with the enthralling Gunpowder Plot at its heart, Nicola Cornick’s utterly enchanting new timeslip novel will sweep you off your feet. Perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley, Barbara Erskine and Kate Morton.

***

Readers LOVE The Winter Garden:

‘A marvellous dual timeline novel that had me enthralled from the start.’ Netgalley, 5*****

‘Just stunning… a captivating read that I would recommend to fans of historical fiction.’ Netgalley, 5*****

‘Haunting and mysterious… I couldn’t put this down.’ Netgalley, 5*****

‘Oh my, this took my breath away. Perfect for fans of Barbara Erskine.’ Netgalley, 5*****

‘A wonderful and engrossing read [that] will pull at your heartstrings.’ Netgalley, 5****

‘Grab yourself a copy of this book! I absolutely loved this! I read it in a day.’ Netgalley, 5*****

About the author

Nicola Cornick is a historian and author who works as a researcher and guide for the National Trust in one of the most beautiful 17th century houses in England. She writes dual time novels that illustrate her love of history, mystery and the supernatural, and focus on women from the footnotes of history. Her books have appeared in over twenty five languages, sold over half a million copies worldwide and been described as "perfect for Outlander fans." Nicola also gives writing and history talks, works as a consultant for TV and radio, and is a trustee of the Wantage Literary Festival and the Friends of Lydiard Park.

Her new novel, The Winter Garden is a re-telling of the story of the 1605 Gunpowder Plot from the point of view of the women closest to the ringleader, Robert Catesby – His wife Katherine and mother Anne. It is out in October 2022 and is available for pre- order in paperback and e-book.

Nicola loves to chat to readers about history, reading and writing.

GENRE
Romans et littérature
NARRATION
ELC
Emma Laird Craig
LANGUE
EN
Anglais
DURÉE
11:04
h min
SORTIE
2022
27 octobre
ÉDITIONS
HQ
TAILLE
681
Mo