Sovereign

    • 4,7 • 3 notes
    • 5,99 €
    • 5,99 €

Description de l’éditeur

Following on from Dissolution and Dark Fire, Sovereign is the third gripping historical novel in C. J. Sansom's number one bestselling Shardlake series, for fans of Hilary Mantel and Philippa Gregory.

'When it comes to intriguing Tudor-based narratives, Hilary Mantel has a serious rival' - Sunday Times
‘Sansom has the trick of writing an enthralling narrative. Like Hilary Mantel, he produces densely textured historical novels that absorb their readers in another time’ - Andrew Taylor, Spectator

Autumn, 1541: King Henry VIII has set out on a spectacular Progress to the North to attend an extravagant submission of his rebellious subjects in York.

Already in the city are lawyer Matthew Shardlake and his assistant Jack Barak. As well as assisting with legal work processing petitions to the King, Shardlake has reluctantly undertaken a special mission for the Archbishop Cranmer – to ensure the welfare of an important but dangerous conspirator being returned to London for interrogation.

But the murder of a local glazier involves Shardlake in deeper mysteries, connected not only to the prisoner in York Castle but to the royal family itself. And when Shardlake and Barak stumble upon a cache of secret papers which could threaten the Tudor throne, a chain of events unfolds that will lead to Shardlake facing the most terrifying fate of the age . . .

Continue the number one bestselling historical series with Revelation, Heartstone, Lamentation and Tombland.

GENRE
Policier et suspense
SORTIE
2008
4 septembre
LANGUE
EN
Anglais
LONGUEUR
688
Pages
ÉDITIONS
Pan Macmillan
TAILLE
2,2
Mo

Plus de livres par C.J. Sansom

2014
2008
2010
2008
2012
2008

D’autres ont aussi acheté

2010
2011
2014
2012
2016
2020

Autres livres de cette série

2008
2010
2014
2018
2008
2008