A Man Called Ove

    • 4.1 • 35 Ratings
    • £9.99

    • £9.99

Publisher Description

Perfect for fans of Gail Honeyman's Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine; Ruth Hogan's The Keeper of Lost Things and Graeme Simsion's The Rosie Project, A Man Called Ove is one of the best-loved and most life-affirming novels of the decade.

This multi-million-copy phenomenon is a funny, moving, uplifting tale of love and community that will leave you with a spring in your step.

'Warm, funny, and almost unbearably moving' Daily Mail

'Rescued all those men who constantly mean to read novels but never get round to it' Spectator Books of the Year

At first sight, Ove is almost certainly the grumpiest man you will ever meet. He thinks himself surrounded by idiots - neighbours who can't reverse a trailer properly, joggers, shop assistants who talk in code, and the perpetrators of the vicious coup d'etat that ousted him as Chairman of the Residents' Association. He will persist in making his daily inspection rounds of the local streets.

But isn't it rare, these days, to find such old-fashioned clarity of belief and deed? Such unswerving conviction about what the world should be, and a lifelong dedication to making it just so?

In the end, you will see, there is something about Ove that is quite irresistible . . .

GENRE
Fiction
NARRATOR
JW
Joan Walker
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
09:12
hr min
RELEASED
2014
3 July
PUBLISHER
Hodder & Stoughton
SIZE
373.3
MB

Customer Reviews

Rawr!! :D ,

10/10

Heart warming and hilarious.

mafifaluus ,

A great book ruined

I have bought and read the book which I throughly enjoyed, it is a fine book, full of complexity and humor and I thought I would re-read, but this time use the iTunes version and listen to the story on my commute rather than read again. Unfortunately this was a mistake. Ove is quiet clearly a middle-aged man, from Swedish working class stock. Unfortunately the book was narrated by an English middle-class schoolgirl. The incongruity is glaringly obvious. Where I had imagined Ove’s voice as male and lugubrious what I got was female and shrill. It just doesn’t work. The attempts at conveying comedy were usually accomplished by raising her voice and emphasis by lowering it. Not a great repertoire. A working class Swedish icon has been transformed into a posh English schoolgirl with limited range and limitless high pitched shouting. Nothing like I imagined the book to be. The narration ruined it for me, but of course the content is the same so I have given two stars for this; I don’t know what the producers were thinking in allocating this story to this narrator. Imagine Jane Eyre narrated by Michael Caine or Ray Winstone and you can understand my point. 11.95 wasted - perhaps someone will advise the rationale behind the thinking of replacing the words of a Swedish working class man with an English middle class woman? Logic anyone?

Ozzypoo ,

Best thing I've listen to

I have just finished listening to this audio book and it is fantastic!! I cannot recommend it enough, it's such a lovely story. I listened whilst walking my dog and I walked a long way as I couldn't stop listening! I think the narrator does an amazing job with the voices, something that made the book even better for me.

Listeners Also Bought

2016
2015
2020
2020
2014
2017