A Pen Dipped in Poison A Pen Dipped in Poison

A Pen Dipped in Poison

    • 3.7 • 36 Ratings
    • £11.99

    • £11.99

Publisher Description

Retired schoolteachers and amateur sleuths Liz, Pat and Thelma have a brand-new mystery to solve in this witty tale – perfect for fans of The Thursday Murder Club and Robert Thorogood

Curious white envelopes have been delivered to friends and neighbours. Inside are letters revealing the deepest secrets they have tried to hide.

As one by one, careers are ended, marriages destroyed and no one is beyond suspicion, the three friends decide enough is enough. They must take matters into their own hands before more damage is done.

But as they work to uncover the truth, they begin to wonder just how far someone will go to silence this poison pen…

Could a murderer be in their midst once again?

The second totally addictive and page-turning cosy mystery featuring these very unlikely sleuths. Fans of Agatha Christie and Midsomer Murders will be hooked from the very first page.

Readers love this book!:

‘A charming read with a cast of characters you’ll really connect with’ Faith Martin, author of A Fatal End

‘The ingredients for the perfect modern cosy crime: intrigue, characters you care about and a good dollop of humour' Ian Moore, author of Death and Croissants

‘As delightful as it is deadly, A Pen Dipped in Poison is a feel-good, fun and fabulous cosy mystery that had me utterly gripped from page one. J.M. Hall proves once again he's one of our very best cosy mystery writers. I absolutely loved it’ Jonathan Whitelaw, author of The Bingo Hall Detectives

‘A gently quirky cosy mystery with plenty of twists and turns, and an intriguing cast of characters – some endearing, some not so much!’ Fiona Leitch, author of The Cornish Wedding Murder

‘Malice and mayhem spur a school reunion of three modern Marples – and some of their Thirsk community learn a lesson they’ll never forget!’ Sarah Yarwood-Lovett, author of A Murder of Crows

‘The perfect page turning, guess-who cosy crime.’ Northern Life Magazine

‘This promises to be delightfully cosy crime.’ Daily Mail

‘This fun crime novel will have you hooked from the very first page.’ Woman’s Own

‘So brilliant… I loved this so much! Perfect cosy crime – I am a big fan of this author!’ NetGalley review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Three Miss Marples for the price of one! Extremely well-drawn characters… the plot is carefully assembled… the writing is so good… I loved this story!’ NetGalley review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I could not put this book down! What a perfect book…! I loved the three main characters… I highly recommend.’ NetGalley review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘This book would make a great movie! The characters are likeable and quirky, the story moves quickly and this talented author leaves us wanting for more…!’ NetGalley review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

About the author

J.M. Hall is an author, playwright and deputy head of a primary school. His plays have been produced in theatres across the UK as well as for radio, the most recent being Trust, starring Julie Hesmondhalgh on BBC Radio 4. This is his second novel.

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
NARRATOR
JH
Julie Hesmondhalgh
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
11:09
hr min
RELEASED
2023
30 March
PUBLISHER
Avon
SIZE
685.7
MB

Customer Reviews

Jaye's22 ,

*Poison Pen Letters*

This book was just an ok listen for me story wise. I love the main characters of retired teachers and amateur detectives, Liz, Pat and Thelma. This instalment was a little busy with characters for me but the saving grace was the narrator Julie Hesmondhalgh. She has a way of bringing the characters to life and all their huffiness and personalities.

This story dragged about someone writing pen letters in the school that the ladies used to teach in. The ladies end up helping out at the school in different capacities while they try to discover who the author of the letters could possibly be. It was a bit long winded but this is a new author and I am curious to see what happens in book three, mainly due to the trio.

kazza butterfly ,

Easy listening

Enjoyed this second book very much easy listening with humour thrown in,love mystery books without violence,and was especially impressed by Julie’s narration, looking forward to book 3.

Picotd ,

Wonderful book. Wonderful audio reading

Don’t know where to begin with praise for this lovely book and Julie Hesmondhaulgh’s reading - utterly captures the characters, the atmosphere, the humour.

Listeners Also Bought

A Spoonful of Murder A Spoonful of Murder
2022
Death Comes to Marlow Death Comes to Marlow
2023
The Queen of Poisons The Queen of Poisons
2024
The Marlow Murder Club The Marlow Murder Club
2021
Vera Wong’s Unsolicited Advice for Murderers Vera Wong’s Unsolicited Advice for Murderers
2023
The Accidental Medium The Accidental Medium
2022