• £9.99

Publisher Description

Springtime in Styria. And that means war.

There have been nineteen years of blood. The ruthless Grand Duke Orso is locked in a vicious struggle with the squabbling League of Eight, and between them they have bled the land white. While armies march, heads roll and cities burn, behind the scenes bankers, priests and older, darker powers play a deadly game to choose who will be king.

War may be hell but for Monza Murcatto, the Snake of Talins, the most feared and famous mercenary in Duke Orso's employ, it's a damn good way of making money too. Her victories have made her popular - a shade too popular for her employer's taste. Betrayed, thrown down a mountain and left for dead, Murcatto's reward is a broken body and a burning hunger for vengeance. Whatever the cost, seven men must die.

Her allies include Styria's least reliable drunkard, Styria's most treacherous poisoner, a mass-murderer obsessed with numbers and a Northman who just wants to do the right thing. Her enemies number the better half of the nation. And that's all before the most dangerous man in the world is dispatched to hunt her down and finish the job Duke Orso started. . .

Springtime in Styria. And that means revenge.

Read by Steven Pacey

(p) 2012 Orion Publishing Group

Sci-Fi & Fantasy
Steven Pacey
hr min
August 19

Customer Reviews

Antony O'Loughlin ,

Really bizarre second narrator

The vast majority of this audiobook, read by Stephen Pacey, is excellent. However, there are some really bizarre sections where a second narrator turns up and re-reads chapters you've just listened to. For absolutely no discernible reason. Very odd...

grimwar85 ,


Absolutely loved it, equal to the excellent First Law trilogy.

Had no audio issues that other reviews mention either. Just the brilliant Steven Pacey reading as well as ever.

wibwobpinpi ,


Loved it and didn’t get a second narrator as the other reviews say ? Glad I downloaded it and didn’t listen to them.

Listeners Also Bought