• £15.99

Publisher Description

In a small North Carolina town, one man struggles to save his family after America loses a war that will send it back to the Dark Ages.

Already cited on the floor of Congress and discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a book all Americans should read, One Second After is the story of a war scenario that could become all too terrifyingly real. Based on a real weapon—the electromagnetic pulse (EMP)—which may already be in the hands of our enemies, it is a truly realistic look at the awesome power of a weapon that can destroy the entire United States, literally within one second.

In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail Safe, and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future and our end.

GENRE
Fiction
NARRATOR
JB
Joe Barrett
LENGTH
13:18
hr min
RELEASED
2009
July 30
PUBLISHER
Blackstone Audio
LANGUAGE
EN
English
SIZE
647.7
MB

Customer Reviews

G A P ,

Read the book

Amazing and as I see it, an accurate account of what would and could be... In a time of war, anyone who isn't friend or family could potentially be an enemy so it goes; protect your family welcome your friends and be wary of strangers! They have no emotional attachment to you and could potentially threaten what you strive to protect. Don't burn bridges but not everyone in the world is as good as we'd hope. This book doesn't rely on a climax of war rather show it in a matter if fact way that we may be presented with, sitting in the garden enjoying a glass of wine, starting a BBQ or walking the dogs then nothing... It's chilling really. Turn off the power, practically send us back in time and let us live to death...

R.C.P.D ,

What a GREAT READ

This is a very scary/chilling story of what things could be like after the apocalypse.

Bleeillus ,

One Second After

The central premiss is interesting, if you pull the electrical plug what happens to society? The central character is a little bit too 'right wing' in his response for my taste, ie everyone who is not either his immediate family or someone he likes is his enemy. If you feel more in tune with political standpoint the author is postulating then you may find it more entertaining.

Listeners Also Bought