• £7.99

Publisher Description

*The Sunday Times No.1 bestseller*

EVERYONE’S INVITED.
EVERYONE’S A SUSPECT.
AND EVERYONE’S TALKING ABOUT IT.

‘Ripping, riveting’ A. J. Finn
‘Clever, twisty and sleek’ Daily Mail
‘Unputdownable’ John Boyne
‘Foley is superb’ The Times
‘Chilling’ Adele Parks
‘Terrific, riveting’ Dinah Jefferies

In a remote hunting lodge, deep in the Scottish wilderness, old friends gather for New Year.

The beautiful one
The golden couple
The volatile one
The new parents
The quiet one
The city boy
The outsider

The victim.

Not an accident – a murder among friends.

Reviews

‘A ripping, riveting murder mystery — wily as Agatha Christie, charged with real menace, real depth. Perfect for fans of Ruth Ware’ – A. J. Finn

‘Very gripping and so good on the awfulness of some long-history friendships’ – Sophie Hannah

‘Hugely entertaining. Full of surprises. This is a clever, twisting page-turner of the highest order. I loved it’ – Simon Kernick

‘The suspense will keep you reading long after lights out’ – Woman and Home

‘I loved The Hunting Party – a gripping, eerie thriller set in a beautifully imagined remote wilderness with pitch-perfect characters’ – Laura Marshall

‘The Secret History meets And Then There Were None, this is a fantastic crime debut’ – Cass Green

'One of my favourite reads so far this year – beautifully written and full of chills’ – Cara Hunter

‘Secret upon secret and a healthy dose of deceit. You won't look at your old friends in the same way when you read this book’ – C.L. Taylor

‘Chilling. You won’t sleep’ – Adele Parks

‘Foley builds the tension cleverly and creepily, underlining the point that old friends aren’t always the best’ – Observer

‘Those who enjoyed The Secret History by Donna Tartt and The Party by Elizabeth Day will love The Hunting Party’ – Pandora Sykes

‘The Hunting Party is an edge of the seat thriller with a fabulously chilling atmosphere. I absolutely loved it’ – Kate Hamer

‘Thrilling and atmospheric. I loved this thoroughly modern and glamorous update of the country house murder mystery’ – Tasmina Perry

‘A brilliant, addictive, claustrophobic read’ Karen Hamilton

‘Twisty, layered and compulsive. I raced through the pages in a hunt to discover the truth’ – Lucy Clarke

‘Secrets, lies, good plotting’ – Sarah Vaughan

‘Gripping and exciting and wonderfully written, of course, with such incredible characters and a wonderful twist that I really didn’t see coming’ – Louise O’Neill

About the author

Lucy Foley studied English Literature at Durham and UCL universities and worked for several years as a fiction editor in the publishing industry, before leaving to write full-time. The Hunting Party is her debut crime novel, inspired by a particularly remote spot in Scotland that fired her imagination.

Lucy is also the author of three historical novels, which have been translated into sixteen languages. Her journalism has appeared in ES Magazine, Sunday Times Style, Grazia and more.

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
NARRATOR
CM
Cathleen McCarron
LENGTH
10:04
hr min
RELEASED
2018
December 6
PUBLISHER
HarperCollins
LANGUAGE
EN
English
SIZE
314.4
MB

Customer Reviews

Reading Stuff 'n' Things blog ,

Classic who-dunnit

This is a classic "who-dunnit" story with a cast of mostly unlikeable characters but set in the very beautiful but remote Scottish Highlands.

The story is written from the perspectives of various characters using two timelines - the days leading up to the death and once the body is discovered. We are kept in the dark about which one of the guests is dead and the author does a good job of throwing in red herrings to throw you off the scent as to who it is and who did the deed.

This is a "who-dunnit" story but is also develops into a "who-is-it" conundrum and I really liked that about this book. I also liked the fact that 90% of the characters were pretty horrible if I'm honest and I wasn't particularly bothered who had been killed but this resulted in a lack of connection and I didn't become as emotionally involved as I would have liked which lessened the enjoyment a little for me.

Overall, this is a pretty good read and I would recommend it to anyone who loves a cast of dysfunctional and unlikeable people trapped together in an unforgiving landscape with an unknown killer amongst them - just sit back, enjoy and watch it all unravel.

My thanks must go to the publisher, HarperCollins UK, via NetGalley for my copy in return for an honest review.

gillm0 ,

Excellent

I loved this audiobook. Captivating story, which was very well written. I thought that the narrators voices where all expressive, distinctive and told this tale exceedingly well. Would thoroughly recommend.

Manya41 ,

Awful

Don’t bother, shockingly badly written.

Listeners Also Bought