• £7.99

Publisher Description

The final volume in Cliff McNish's bestselling debut trilogy.
The magic of all children has been released. Throughout the skies of Earth they swoop, crossing continents, changing shape, diving to the ocean depths and playing the deadly new spell-games.
Rachel bides her time, watching the skies for what she knows will happen - the invasion of the Witches. But when it comes it is not in the way anyone expects, and there is also a new enemy — the huge, terrifying Gridda-breed.
To confront them will require all of Rachel's and her brother Eric's skill and courage, as they embark on a journey that takes them to Ool, home of the Witches — a world where mountains move and breathe, the sun never pierces the clouds and the snows are alive.
Read by Siân Phillips
Music by Peter Rinne with Andrew Butler
Abridged by Patricia Saunders
Original text © Cliff McNish 2003
© Doomspell Books 2019

Kids & Young Adults
Sian Phillips
hr min
August 20
Author's Republic

Customer Reviews

Firecat22 ,

A compelling conclusion to the Trilogy

In this final part of the Trilogy, the writer cleverly gathers together elements from each of the previous novels, building tension as the Griddas prepare their attack against the children.

Sian Phillips narrates all the characters with more colour and variety than the previous two books and seems to especially enjoy being the Prapsies, the two mischievous companions of Eric that have a body of a crow but the head of a baby.

Eric’s character grows in importance and dialogue throughout the book, adding an extra dynamic to the story. This made it all the more enjoyable and some of the great new characters included the mysterious Spectrums.

Eventually, Rachel and Eric are thrown into a final battle that reveals the ancient history of the Witches and Wizards; the mystery of the worlds.