Widdershins (Unabridged‪)‬

    • £10.99

    • £10.99

Publisher Description

England, 1650. A vengeful witch hunter. An innocent healer accused of witchcraft. Can she escape the hangman’s noose?

Widdershins is told through the eyes of a young woman accused of witchcraft and the witchfinder who condemns her to death. From his father’s beatings to his uncle’s raging sermons, the orphaned John Sharpe is beset by bad fortune. Fighting through personal tragedy, he finds his purpose: to become a witchfinder and save innocents from the scourge of witchcraft. 

Jane Chandler is an apprentice midwife. From childhood, she has used herbs to heal poor women and children. But Jane’s life is at risk when Puritan lawmakers hire John Sharpe to cleanse the town of witches. When Jane visits the apothecary to trade herbs, she finds herself accused of witchcraft. On trial for her life, can she prove her innocence and escape the hangman’s noose? 

In an English town gripped by superstition and fear, two destinies collide in this absorbing historical novel based on true events.

Widdershins is inspired by the little-known 1650 Newcastle witch trials, where 15 women and one man were hanged as witches on a single day in England. Recommended for fans of The Familiars, The Witchfinder's Sister, The Manningtree Witches, Cunning Women, A Secret History of Witches, The Daylight Gate, Circe, The Crucible, Burial Rites, Tidelands, Dark Tides, Dawnlands, and A Discovery of Witches

GENRE
Romance
NARRATOR
CM
Christine Mackie
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
08:11
hr min
RELEASED
2021
25 June
PUBLISHER
Bell Jar Books
PRESENTED BY
Audible.co.uk
SIZE
421.2
MB