• £3.99

Publisher Description

The bestselling author of the No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency Series brings his trademark warmth and wisdom to his novel chronicling the lives of the residents of 44 Scotland Street that's 'as charming as the bohemian street in which it's set' (Scottish Daily Record)

The story revolves around the comings and goings at No. 44 Scotland Street, a fictitious building in a real street in Edinburgh. Immediately recognisable are the Edinburgh chartered surveyor, stalwart of the Conservative Association, who dreams of membership of Scotland's most exclusive golf club. We have the pushy Stockbridge mother, and her prodigiously talented five-year-old son, who is making good progress with the saxophone and with his Italian. Then there is Domenica Macdonald who is that type of Edinburgh lady who sees herself as a citizen of a broader intellectual world.

In McCall Smith's hands such characters retain charm and novelty, simultaneously arousing both mirth and empathy. 44 Scotland Street is vintage McCall Smith, tackling issues of trust and honesty, snobbery and hypocrisy, love and loss, but all with great lightness of touch. Clever, elegant and funny, this is a novel that provides huge entertainment but which is underpinned by the moral dilemmas of everyday life and the characters' struggles to resolve them.

Contains an exclusive extract from The Department of Sensitive Crimes, the first novel in the new Detective Varg series by Alexander McCall Smith

Fiction & Literature
October 2
Little, Brown Book Group

Customer Reviews

Hannaclemence ,

A Captivating Read

Short, rich chapters make the book hard to put down, put easy to dip in and out of. Charming and light, with wonderful depictions of Edinburgh and its residents. Heartily recommended!

Scotsteetfaan ,

A book that brings joy and humour in equal measure

I read 44 Scotland Street after it was left with us by a visitor. Once read I just had to follow the remainder of the series and have been rewarded with so much entertainment, as the characters are real people to me. I now understand that the next book in the series ‘The Peppermint Chronicles’ will be published in August 2019.
I can’t wait to get my hands on it!

Joannywee ,

No story

I felt I was read a load of different episodes of a story no theme waiting for a beginning an middle and a good end ! ....still waiting .
Don't think the title was relivent.

More Books by Alexander McCall Smith

Other Books in This Series