• £4.99

Publisher Description

A Sunday Times top ten bestseller, perfect for fans of THE NIGHT MANAGER, from the winner of the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger for Best Thriller of the Year and ‘the master of the modern spy thriller’ (Mail on Sunday).

A NEW COLD WAR IS LOOMING
Former MI6 officer Thomas Kell thought he was done with spying. Until the Russian agent he blames for the death of his girlfriend is spotted at a Red Sea resort – in dangerous company.

ONE SPY WANTS REVENGE
Taking the law into his own hands, Kell embarks on a mission to recruit his rival. Only to find himself in a high-stakes game of cat and mouse in which it becomes increasingly difficult to know who is playing whom.

THIS TIME IT’S PERSONAL
As the mission reaches boiling point, rumours of a terrorist attack suggest a massacre on Britain soil is imminent. Kell is faced with an impossible choice. Loyalty to MI6 – or to his own conscience?

Reviews

Praise for A Divided Spy:

‘A gripping psychological clash of wills, tactics and morals … Kell’s third appearance confirms him as one of the most interesting and sympathetic characters in the spy thriller field’ The Times

‘Breathtaking . . . suspenseful . . . Kell brings a note of grace to the treacherous world of the spy novel’ Washington Post

‘A magnetic tale of the New Cold War: not since George Smiley trapped Karla have we seen such a delicious recruitment between East and West’ Jason Matthews, New York Times bestselling author of Palace of Treason

‘A clever spy thriller combining believable spycraft, deft characterisation and acute psychological observation’ Ben Macintyre

‘Agent Kell is hell-bent on revenge ― but his quest ends up endangering Britain’s national security. Classic spy fiction at its best’ New York Post, “Must Reads”

‘The spies’ shifting psychological duel is riveting … deftly coupled with a topical subplot’ Sunday Times

‘Thomas Kell has become one of the most interesting and well-drawn spies in contemporary literature – a man who deserves to be spoken in the same breath as George Smiley … Delicately written, with Cumming’s customary subtle humour, it confirms him as le Carré’s heir’ Daily Mail

‘Wonderful stuff – Charles Cumming is the one true heir to John Le Carré and Ian Fleming. Nobody documents life in the shadows quite as brilliantly as Charles Cumming – the new spymaster on the block’ Tony Parsons, author of The Murder Bag

‘A clever, believable spy thriller by a man dubbed the heir to John le Carré’ Sun

About the author

Charles Cumming was born in Scotland in 1971. Shortly after university he was approached for recruitment by the Secret Intelligence Service (MI6), an experience that inspired his first novel, A Spy by Nature. He has written several bestselling thrillers, including A Foreign Country, which won the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger for Best Thriller and the Bloody Scotland Crime Book of the Year. He lives in London.

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2016
June 2
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
432
Pages
PUBLISHER
HarperCollins
SIZE
2.7
MB

Customer Reviews

Fraser's review ,

Very impressive

As a fan of this genre of story telling this was a truly gripping and exciting book that had me wrapped up from start to finish. David Downing in his Station series evoked atmosphere like no one else for me but in this, my first by Charles Cumming, I have found his match. In understated, almost bland prose, you realise you are absorbed in the world created. Not out of voyeurism or simple excitement, but as an active participant in the story, the unrelenting pace held me in its plausibility and quiet authenticity. This has me searching for another story by this talented author, as quickly as I can.

More Books by Charles Cumming

Other Books in This Series