A Fine Place for Death (Mitchell & Markby 6) A Fine Place for Death (Mitchell & Markby 6)

A Fine Place for Death (Mitchell & Markby 6‪)‬

A compelling Cotswold village crime novel of murder and intrigue

    • 4.2 • 10 Ratings
    • £1.99
    • £1.99

Publisher Description

A look into one girl's life sheds light on another girl's death...

Meredith Mitchell and Chief Inspector Markby probe troubled family relationships to find a killer in A Fine Place for Death, the compelling sixth mystery in Ann Granger's Mitchell & Markby series. The perfect read for fans of Kathy Cranston, Agatha Christie and ITV's Midsomer Murders.

'Ingenious... witty... picturesque... amusingly idiosyncratic' - New York Times

In the heart of the leafy Cotswolds a body is found. A teenage girl, probably local, somebody's daughter who went out one evening and didn't come back. It is not long before she is identified: fifteen-year-old Lynne Wills who habitually drank underage in 'The Silver Bells' pub and, on the night of her death, was seen leaving with an unknown man.

Chief Inspector Markby's friend Meredith Mitchell has been befriended by another troubled young local girl, Katie Conway. On the surface Lynne and Katie have nothing in common except their age and home town. But could the insights Katie gives Meredith into her difficult family background - an unstable, aristocratic mother, a doting father at the end of his tether, and a scheming resident secretary - throw some light on the other young girl? And, given that forensic evidence now points to Lynne Wills's murder having taken place in the Devaux family mausoleum, on her murder too ...?

What readers are saying about A Fine Place for Death:

'It kept me guessing until the very end. Ann Granger has managed to create believable characters that are both likeable and interesting'

'I recommend this book and this series to anyone who enjoys well written crime novels with interesting characters and plots'

'Fantastic twists and turns'

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2010
9 December
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
242
Pages
PUBLISHER
Headline
SIZE
934.1
KB

More Books Like This

Where Old Bones Lie (Mitchell & Markby 5) Where Old Bones Lie (Mitchell & Markby 5)
2010
Flowers for his Funeral (Mitchell & Markby 7) Flowers for his Funeral (Mitchell & Markby 7)
2010
Call the Dead Again (Mitchell & Markby 11) Call the Dead Again (Mitchell & Markby 11)
2012
Those People Those People
2019
The Night Train The Night Train
2021
Death at the Auction Death at the Auction
2022

More Books by Ann Granger

Candle for a Corpse (Mitchell & Markby 8) Candle for a Corpse (Mitchell & Markby 8)
2012
Rack, Ruin and Murder (Campbell & Carter Mystery 2) Rack, Ruin and Murder (Campbell & Carter Mystery 2)
2011
A Season for Murder (Mitchell & Markby 2) A Season for Murder (Mitchell & Markby 2)
2010
Flowers for his Funeral (Mitchell & Markby 7) Flowers for his Funeral (Mitchell & Markby 7)
2010
A Mortal Curiosity (Inspector Ben Ross Mystery 2) A Mortal Curiosity (Inspector Ben Ross Mystery 2)
2010
Where Old Bones Lie (Mitchell & Markby 5) Where Old Bones Lie (Mitchell & Markby 5)
2010

Customers Also Bought

A Sudden Fearful Death (William Monk Mystery, Book 4) A Sudden Fearful Death (William Monk Mystery, Book 4)
2013
A Colourful Death A Colourful Death
2013
Weighed in the Balance (William Monk Mystery, Book 7) Weighed in the Balance (William Monk Mystery, Book 7)
2013
Valley of the Shadow Valley of the Shadow
2013
Defend and Betray (William Monk Mystery, Book 3) Defend and Betray (William Monk Mystery, Book 3)
2013
Manna from Hades Manna from Hades
2013