A Room Full of Killers (DCI Matilda Darke, Book 3‪)‬

    • 4.3 • 161 Ratings
    • £0.99
    • £0.99

Publisher Description

‘DCI Matilda Darke is the perfect heroine’ Elly Griffiths

The third book in Michael Wood’s darkly compelling crime series featuring DCI Matilda Darke. Perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride, Mark Billingham and Val McDermid.

Eight killers. One house. And the almost perfect murder…

Starling House is home to some of Britain’s deadliest teenagers, still too young for prison.

When the latest arrival is found brutally murdered, DCI Matilda Darke and her team investigate, and discover a prison manager falling apart and a sabotaged security system. Neither the staff nor the inmates can be trusted.

The only person Matilda believes is innocent is facing prison for the rest of his life. With time running out, she must solve the unsolvable to save a young man from his fate, and find a murderer in a house full of killers…

Reviews

Praise for A ROOM FULL OF KILLERS:

‘A pitch-black concept, tightly delivered and played at exhilarating pace’ Paul Finch

Praise for OUTSIDE LOOKING IN:

‘At one point in this tense thriller, the endearing protagonist reflects that the investigation is like having “all the pieces of the jigsaw but…from different boxes”. Matilda Darke is right – and only in the final pages is the full picture revealed…’ Chris Simms

‘Crackling dialogue, dark wit and an exciting ending. Recommended if you liked Happy Valley’ Mark Edwards

‘DCI Matilda Darke is going places’ James Oswald

‘A compelling, addictive read, it’s hard to put down. I really enjoyed getting to know DCI Matilda Darke. She's strong character with real depth’ Robert Bryndza, bestselling author of THE GIRL IN THE ICE

Praise for FOR REASONS UNKNOWN:

‘A beautifully written book with a dark heart and a secret that impacts on generations’ Sarah Ward

‘A skilfully crafted and compelling debut that hooks from the off and will keep you guessing until the final page. I can’t wait for Michael Wood’s next one’ M.R. Hall

‘Gripping, sad and unexpected – this is a terrific debut. Wood writes with the confidence and flair of an old hand’ Alex Marwood

‘A strong debut with an intriguing mystery at its heart. The first thing that strikes me is how well he writes female characters. The novel is packed full of strong women’ Ben Cheetham

‘An appealing – and refreshingly human – lead character is swept along in this ingeniously plotted, fast paced debut’ Chris Simms

'This explosive novel is already making a bang – with reviewers comparing Michael’s work to that of his heroes Val McDermid and James Oswald' Sheffield Star

About the author

Michael Wood is a freelance journalist and proofreader living in Sheffield. As a journalist he has covered many crime stories throughout Sheffield, gaining first-hand knowledge of police procedure. He also reviews books for CrimeSquad, a website dedicated to crime fiction.

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2017
17 February
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
436
Pages
PUBLISHER
One More Chapter
SIZE
1.5
MB

Customer Reviews

steve coz 1 ,

A room full of killers

Good read from start to finish

johnydrummer ,

Disappointing ending

Have read a few of this series now and started to get a little annoyed at main characters constant blunders 😂 and repetitive plot.
Disappointing ending which was meant to be a twist but story was better without.

Livingwithaspringer ,

Very good

I do like this series and I enjoyed this book as much as the others I have read.
It doesn’t matter if you haven’t read the earlier books but it probably helps a bit to know the characters and their backstories. They’re well worth reading anyway.
This storyline was good and, as usual, I find the writing style easy and a pleasure to read.
Recommended.

More Books by Michael Wood

2015
2022
2016
2018
2020
2021

Customers Also Bought

2018
2019
2020
2020
2020
2020

Other Books in This Series

2018
2016
2015
2016