• £2.99

Publisher Description

Bath, 1912.

Amelia Wakefield loves working at Pennington's, Bath's finest department store. An escape from her traumatic past, it saved her life. So when Miss Pennington sets her a task to set sail on the Titanic and study the department stores of New York, she couldn't be more excited – or determined!

Frustrated with his life at home, Samuel Murphy longs for a few weeks of freedom and adventure. Meeting Amelia on board the Titanic, Samuel can't help wonder what painful history has made the beauty so reserved. But he already has too many responsibilities for love.

Ruby Taylor has always kept her Pennington co-workers at a distance. Making sure her little brother is safe has always been her priority. But when that means accepting Victoria Lark's offer of sanctuary, more than one of Ruby's secrets is under threat of being revealed...

A riveting and uplifting saga, perfect for fans of Elaine Everest and Fiona Ford.

GENRE
Romance
RELEASED
2020
April 9
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
336
Pages
PUBLISHER
Head of Zeus
SIZE
2.9
MB

Customer Reviews

Swindonmum ,

Enjoyed

Thank you to Aria for providing me with a digital review copy of this book via NetGalley - my thoughts are my own.

This is the first book I've read by Rachel Brimble, so I haven't read the previous 3 books in the Pennington series - however I was still able to enjoy reading this book. I have added the previous books to my wish list though.

The story follows three residents of the city of Bath - Amelia, Ruby and Samuel. Amelia and Ruby work together at the Pennington department store before Amelia travels to New York on a fact finding mission for her employers and meets Samuel on the Titanic.

I enjoyed reading about life in Bath and on the Titanic in 1912. Today is the 108th anniversary of the sinking of the Titanic and it has featured in many books and films. I felt that Rachel wrote about the sinking and the aftermath with lots of care and compassion for both the survivors and those who perished.

Ruby doesn't leave Bath but her story is no less compelling - she wants to protect her younger brother from their mother.

I enjoyed this book - great characters, detailed descriptions and a story about the importance of friends and dreams about the future. An enjoyable historical fiction book I'm happy to recommend

More Books by Rachel Brimble

Other Books in This Series