• £3.99

Publisher Description

‘Fantastic – Ewan is a genius at easing you in, and then keeping you there until the story is done with you’ – Lee Child

If your family was targeted in the middle of the night, what would you do?

You are asleep. A noise wakes you.
You stir, unsure why, and turn to your partner.
Then you hear it.
Glass. Crunching underfoot.
Your worst fears are about to be realized.
Someone is inside your home.
Your choices are limited.
You can run. Or stay and fight.
What would you do?

A Window Breaks is the nerve-shredding thriller from C. M. Ewan, the author of Safe House.

Perfect for fans of T. M. Logan’s Lies and Mark Edwards’s The Retreat.

Praise for A Window Breaks

'Fantastic' - Lee Child

'Totally addictive' - Ann Cleeves

'A thrill a minute page-turner' - Simon Kernick

'If you only read one thriller this year read this' - C. L. Taylor

'Smashed my way through this . . . nerve-shredding' - Tim Weaver

'Brilliantly crafted, excruciatingly tense' - Sharon Bolton

'Starts at full throttle and never lets up' - T. M. Logan

'Heart stopping . . . a sure fire bestseller' - Jo Spain

'Breakneck ride of a thriller' - Fiona Cummins

'Almost unbearably tense and exciting' - Mark Edwards

'Fierce read, with heart, muscle and an out-of-sight twist' - Mick Herron

'Tense, fast-paced thriller' - Jenny Quintana

'Brilliant and almost impossible to put down' - Andrew Taylor

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2019
October 31
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
464
Pages
PUBLISHER
Pan Macmillan
SIZE
1.1
MB

Customer Reviews

Darwinel15 ,

Different and worth reading

I came across this book and was intrigued by the synopsis. It is such a different sort of thriller to many of the other books out there, and well worth reading. It is well written, and I found myself really liking Tom, as the author made him very normal.
It would’ve got five stars save for a few tiny details...but I don’t want to ruin it by saying what.

bubbles1962 ,

Fast paced but at times unbelieveable

This is a difficult review to right as with bits I would like to say could lead to plot spoilers which I obviously don’t want to do.

The basic premise is Tom Sullivan is a Lawyer, his wife Rachel is a GP, they had two children but Michael had taken his dad’s Audi one night without permission and was driving with his girlfriend, but crashes the car into a tree, both Michael and Fiona are killed. Move on a year and Tom and Rachel are still struggling to move on. Rachel doesn’t believe their son would just take the car on a joyride, Tom is angry with his son as he felt he was irresponsible by taking the car at 16 and killing not just himself but also his girlfriend. Their other child is teenager Holly. Tom has moved out from the marital home as a break. Toms boss Lionel, runs a company called Justice For All JFA, believing that everyone who has committed a crime should have a second chance I life. He holds a gala charity event, where Rachel is due to give a speech. Tom, Rachel and Holly leave soon after the speech has been given, via a back entrance, but as they get out into the alleyway Rachel and Holly are mugged Tom tries to get to them, but the mugger has a knife at his wife’s throat and Holly has been hit in the face breaking her nose. After this happens they decide to take Lionel’s offer of a week in his lodge where they can try and focus on themselves and getting their marriage back on track. They have been married for 16 years and were together four years previous to getting married.. How well does Tom know his wife? Is she keeping things from him?

For me personally I found the first 20% of the book so slow and boring, and I know the writer is setting the story up, but it just seemed to take quite a while for the action to start. Then a window breaks, the rollercoaster ride begins. But even then I just couldn’t find half of it believable, now normally that doesn’t bother me as I think well it’s fiction and anything goes. Most of the story is told from Tom’s point of view, but the problem is every time he has to make a decision we have him going through every scenario and then should I, or shouldn’t I, after a while that gets just too much. I really felt nothing for the characters if anything I felt for Holly as she was a young girl.
Several problems for me were some of the writing kept repeating itself, when the story was Michael and Fiona you had no warning or paragraph break. It went from one bad situation to another and Tom just kept on and on about what to do next, but then hesitates. I know I think I would have hesitated but it just filled the book up with all those thoughts that half of them just didn’t feel necessary. I kept reading because I really wanted to know where the story was going. But I did have my mind wandering, checking social,media. It just didn’t hold my attention.

The story is good, the writing is good, but for me this time was just missing something. Obviously this is just my opinion and others may feel totally different. There were a lot of twists and turns to try and keep the reader’s attention, it just couldn’t hold mine, but as I say I did read it to the end, because I had to know why things had happened.

I would like to thank #Netgalley and #Panpublishers for an eARC of this book in exchange for an honest, fair and unbiased review.

RahFox ,

Action packed page turner

Brilliant story with suspense building on every page.
Lots of unexpected twists that meant that even when I thought I’d worked things out, I was totally surprised and totally wrong by the end!
Had the feel of an escape room, eerily claustrophobic and exciting all at the same time!
Recommended read for winter nights in.