• £3.99

Publisher Description

‘Fantastic’ – Lee Child
'Totally addictive' - Ann Cleeves
'A thrill a minute page-turner' - Simon Kernick

They were supposed to be getting away from their troubles…

Tom and Rachel Sullivan are a couple in mourning. Still recovering from their son’s death eight months before, they have escaped to a remote Scottish lodge with their daughter, in the hope that spending time together as a family will begin to heal the rifts between them.

But cut off from the outside world the cracks in their relationship are exposed. Tom is beset by guilt and anxiety; Rachel is distant, harbouring secrets of her own; and their young daughter is caught in the middle of her parents’ grief.

And then at 2am as they sleep, Tom’s biggest fears are realised: a window breaks and it is clear someone is inside their holiday home. He doesn’t know why they are being targeted but their choices are limited. And there’s nowhere to run…

A Window Breaks is the nerve-shredding thriller from C. M. Ewan, the author of Safe House.

Perfect for fans of T. M. Logan’s Lies and Mark Edwards’s The Retreat.

Praise for A Window Breaks

'If you only read one thriller this year read this' - C. L. Taylor

'Smashed my way through this . . . nerve-shredding' - Tim Weaver

'Brilliantly crafted, excruciatingly tense' - Sharon Bolton

'Starts at full throttle and never lets up' - T. M. Logan

'Heart stopping . . . a sure fire bestseller' - Jo Spain

'Breakneck ride of a thriller' - Fiona Cummins

'Almost unbearably tense and exciting' - Mark Edwards

'Fierce read, with heart, muscle and an out-of-sight twist' - Mick Herron

'Tense, fast-paced thriller' - Jenny Quintana

'Brilliant and almost impossible to put down' - Andrew Taylor

GENRE
Crime & Thrillers
RELEASED
2019
31 October
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
464
Pages
PUBLISHER
Pan Macmillan
SIZE
1.1
MB

Customer Reviews

Lizziemckane ,

A rollicking good read

This is a rollicking read! It stretches credulity a number of times, but, it's well written and so fast paced.

I don't want to say too much about the story, as it's best read knowing little. However, it's about a family dealing with bereavement who get pulled into a dangerous situation. Tom is the father who works for Lionel. Rachel is Tom's wife who also has a link to Lionel and Holly is their young daughter. Lionel persuades the family (following a harrowing incident) to rest and recuperate at his remote lodge in Scotland. This is where things go awry - well, more awry than already experienced by this poor family! There's action aplenty and it's definitely not a relaxing read! However, if you're up for the ride, it's a good one.

It's definitely a page turner. There were a number of times when I felt slightly frustrated, either by the at times ridiculous state of affairs (and individuals reaction to them) and others at the far fetched nature of the situation. For this reason, it's a 3.5 for me. The perfect read if you just want to lose yourself in a good, easy, story.
I'd normally score a 3* GOOD for a 3.5 but, it's a book that's stayed with me and so, for that reason I've increased my score to solid 4*

Thanks so much to #Netgalley and #Panpublishers for an eARC of this book in exchange for an honest, fair and unbiased review. Congratulations to the author.

suferingbard96 ,

A Window Breaks - C.M. Ewans

Gripping, you won't be able to put this murder mystery down. You won't guess what's going to happen next either. Good read.

Darwinel15 ,

Different and worth reading

I came across this book and was intrigued by the synopsis. It is such a different sort of thriller to many of the other books out there, and well worth reading. It is well written, and I found myself really liking Tom, as the author made him very normal.
It would’ve got five stars save for a few tiny details...but I don’t want to ruin it by saying what.