A Woman of War

    • 4.6 • 60 Ratings
    • £2.99
    • £2.99

Publisher Description

For readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and Kate Furnivall comes a gritty tale of courage, betrayal and love in the most unlikely of places.

Also published as The German Midwife.

‘A powerful, haunting debut’ Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author of The Alice Network

‘Incredibly powerful, harrowing but ultimately uplifting. I couldn’t put this down.’ Katie Fforde, author of A Rose Petal Summer

‘A fascinating story which had me forgetting it’s fiction! So well written, I was left pondering if the events could actually be true. Enthralling!’ Kitty Neale, author of A Sister’s Sorrow

‘Absorbing and totally believable – a wonderful WW2 novel.’ Molly Green, author of An Orphan’s War

‘I cannot give enough praise for A Woman of War. This is definitely #1 on my list of [historical fiction] books I’ve read in 2018.’ NetGalley Reviewer

‘If you are looking for a page turner, this is it. I read the book cover to cover in 48 hours. If I could give this book a 6/5 stars I would!’ NetGalley Reviewer

‘The writing was excellent and the characters realistic […] an interesting and thoughtful page turner.’ NetGalley Reviewer

‘Very compelling.’ NetGalley Reviewer

Germany, 1944. Taken from the camps to serve the Führer himself, Anke Hoff is assigned as midwife to one of Hitler’s inner circle. If she refuses, her family will die.

Torn between her duty as a caregiver and her hatred for the Nazi regime, Anke is swept into a life unlike anything she’s ever known – and she discovers that many of those at the Berghof are just as trapped as she is. And soon, she’s falling for a man who will make her world more complicated still…

Before long, the couple is faced with an impossible choice – and the consequences could be deadly. Can their forbidden love survive the horrors of war? And, more importantly, will they?

Mandy Robotham’s highly awaited next book, The Secret Messenger, is out now.

Reviews

‘Incredibly powerful, harrowing but ultimately uplifting. I couldn’t put this down.’ Katie Fforde

‘A fascinating story which had me forgetting it’s fiction! So well written, I was left pondering if the events could actually be true. Enthralling!’ Kitty Neale

‘Absorbing and totally believable – a wonderful WW2 novel.’ Molly Green

‘I cannot give enough praise for A Woman of War. This is definitely #1 on my list of historical fiction books I’ve read in 2018.’ NetGalley Reviewer

‘If you are looking for a page turner, this is it. I read the book cover to cover in 48 hours. If I could give this book a 6/5 Stars I would!’ NetGalley Reviewer

‘The writing was excellent and the characters realistic […] an interesting and thoughtful page turner.’ NetGalley Reviewer

‘Very compelling.’ NetGalley Reviewer

‘This book absolutely DESTROYED me. I went into it with high expectations, and I certainly wasn't let down.’ NetGalley Reviewer

About the author

Mandy Robotham has been an aspiring author since the age of nine, but was waylaid by journalism and later enticed by birth. She’s now a practicing midwife who writes about birth, death, love and everything else in between. She graduated with an MA in Creative Writing from Oxford Brookes University.

GENRE
Fiction & Literature
RELEASED
2018
7 December
LANGUAGE
EN
English
LENGTH
352
Pages
PUBLISHER
Avon
SIZE
1.1
MB

More Books by Mandy Robotham

2019
2022
2020
2021
2020
2023

Customers Also Bought

2018
2018
2017
2009
2019
2019